Retina vs. non-retina iMac vs. MBP fan noise

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thundersteele, Dec 13, 2014.

1. thundersteele macrumors 68030

Hi all. I've read through a few threads here about the new iMac's performance, and also consulted a few benchmarks (e.g. barefeats). The overall picture I get is that the performance of the M295X is fine, but that it is louder than the 2013 iMac with 780M GPU. It would be nice if some people could:

- confirm that the M295X iMac is noisy in situations (e.g. gaming) where the 780M would remain mostly silent
    - compare the fan noise of the M295X with that of a MBP (e.g. 15'' retina or non-retina) while gaming

My personal preferences/use: I've been using MBPs for the last 7 years at least, for work but also for some casual gaming. The MBPs produce significant fan noise when gaming - this is one thing I really would be happy to get rid of. I often sit in a room with my wife, so just wearing headphones doesn't help.
    I don't care for extreme graphics performance (e.g. 4k/5k gaming), but decent fps at 1080p or 1440p would be nice. If I can get comparable performance with much less noise with the 780M I would value that highly. I like the retina screen on my 13'' rMBP but I don't consider it necessary on a desktop. Anyways the screen is something I can compare in the store, but the noise I can't. Any kind of input is appreciated.

2. cynics macrumors G3

I can't really help you too much but I've only had my 2013 imac with 780m increase from its default fan speed of 1200 rpm a couple times while playing ESO. If I didn't have RPM displayed I probably wouldn't even have noticed. I keep graphics set pretty much to the max.

That said I'm sure the newer machines performance is probably better though?

I have no other games to test out.

3. thundersteele thread starter macrumors 68030

Thanks. Unfortunately I wasn't able to find any reviews that give noise level measurements for iMacs.

4. Mindinversion macrumors 6502

Mindinversion