Rev B Owners...how's it with an External Monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MazingerZ, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. MazingerZ macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #1
    My Rev A is almost useless when connected to a 24 inch external monitor.

    How is it with Rev B?
     
  2. stevemoore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #2
    my Rev A was fine
    my Rev B has worked fine into about three monitors and a couple of projectors I've tried, but in most cases I've had to "force" it into the right resolution using display preferences (both for on-board LCD and offboard monitor/projector).

    All worked fine in the end though, and took moments to change. Maybe it is a displayport thing?
     
  3. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #3
    i have plugged it into several external monitors and a handful of projectors... no issues so far... connected and synced up perfect
     
  4. MazingerZ thread starter macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #4
    I guess I'm looking for performance anecdotes. My rev A connected via DVI would become sluggish and slow when connected to a 24 inch monitor.
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Yeah, my Rev A's fans would run full-speed after a few minutes of being connected to my 24" monitor. I thought it was because the GPU got hot. I'm hoping that the more powerful GPU in the Rev B won't make the fans rev when powering a 24".

    I wish my local Apple store had an Air powering the 24" LED Cinema Display instead of a 15" MBP. Argh. :)
     
  6. zer0tails macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    you could always bring your Air to the store and ask to connect it to the 24" LED display to test it out.

    I've done that in the past when i was getting an ACD for my MBP.
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    Why not just ask them to connect an Air to that display?
     
  8. asthukral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #8
    Macbook Air Rev B and Refurbrished Apple 20 inch display

    I was hoping to buy a refurbished Apple 20 inch cinema display? Will that work with the new DVI port? Can the existing connectors that come with the display link to my laptop or will I need to buy yet another external adapter? Since I am a fresh MAC convert, I tend to ask some very basic questions
     
  9. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #9
    You'll need an adapter for any external monitor with any of Apples new laptops - except for the new Apple LCD 24".
     
  10. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #10
    when I am at studio my Air is plugged in to an external monitor all day... the computer operates normally... no noticeable lack of speed... temps are the same.
     
  11. Brad Larson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    I connect my MacBook Air 2.0 into a 24" Gateway FHD2400 at work via the DisplayPort-to-DVI connector and have noticed no performance problems at all. In fact, it handles Expose and Spaces with large numbers of windows better than my old MacBook (white).

    I haven't noticed the fans kicking in until I'm doing a compile job or something else that's CPU-intensive.
     
  12. tstram macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #12
    I have a MBA rev 2 connected to a 20" ACD. When it wakes from sleep mode, sometimes the ACD does not come back on, or if it does the screen just flashes until i put it back to sleep and wake it up again.
     
  13. adyork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Music City
    #13
    Is it possible for an MBA Rev A to be hooked up via HDMI to my 32" HDTV, or will the resolution not play up to size? Basically I want to be able to play movies on my hard drive directly on to my TV. I would also like to be able to do this via a Time Capsule, so I wouldnt have to store the movie on my MBA. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  14. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #14
    Rev B works great with the 24" LED cinema display. No temp increase or loud fan.
     
  15. andyOSX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
    Hey adyork. So to connect your Rev A MBA to your HDTV you will need the "micro-dvi to DVI adapter" and then a DVI to HDMI cable. Using these two things u can connect your HDTV at up to 1080p. However, with the limited graphics in the Rev A MBAs, your experience might be less than satisfactory.

    To connect audio you'll need either a mini-toslink to proper toslink cable (overpriced) or just 1/8" stereo minijack to 2x RCA (the red and white ones).

    Let us know how it goes.
     
  16. andyOSX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #16
    To do this via Timecapsule all you will need to do is store all the video files you want to play on the timecapsule and then access it by clicking on it in the finder sidebar. Note that if you are using a Timecapsule drive for data storage, you cannot partition it if you want to use it for wireless time machine backups as well. If you just want to use it as a wireless disk, then this is of no concern.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page