Ripping Region 1 DVD with handbrake in europe?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by carrollf, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. carrollf macrumors regular

    carrollf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    I recently recived a Region 1 disc and want to use handbrake to rip it onto my ATV in Europe - will it play ok? I have changed my iMac drive to region 1 so that i can play it but I dont want to have to change it each time I want to watch the movie (only have 4 changes left). Are ATV's set up with regions and will a ripped Region 1 disc synced to my ATV play ok??
     
  2. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #2
    No need to change the region just pop it in and leave the region warning on the screen while you handbrake it.

    Works fine done loads.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    step 1. change the drive region back to what it originally was!
    step 2. put the dvd in
    step 3. wait for the "warning wrong region" sign or whatever it is, ignore it and open up handbrake (dont quit dvd player otherwise the disc will eject).
    step 4. convert to an :apple:TV formatted mp4/mov
    step 5. watch on :apple:tv!

    no need to change the regions, especially when you have neat work arounds :)
     
  4. voodoofish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #4
    with my mac's built in drive i've found handbrake won't work with discs whose regions don't match the region my drive is set to - so i wouldn't change the region back to region 2 until you've ripped the disc first! i have a cheap lite-on external drive that handbrake/vlc works with no matter the region of the disc.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    thats odd, mine works no matter what region it is even though i have my preset region (7 i think, whatever australia is)
     
  6. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #6
    Mine's set to region 2 and I've ripped most regions no problem.
     
  7. voodoofish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #7
    mine's set at region 2. i've just tried again playing a region 1 disc in it with vlc and no luck.

    if i put the region 1 disc in my external liteon usb dvd drive, which is set to region 1, vlc will play it. vlc will also play region 2 dvds from the external drive too - suggesting it's something with the built-in drive preventing software getting round the region coding than something being wrong with vlc.

    what kinda mac do you both have? i have an Early 2008 24" iMac, but I had the same problem on my old PowerBook G4 (15" 1.25 Ghz) too.
     
  8. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #8
    Thanks for telling us this, I can finally rip Sleepy Hollow :D
    I think it is Region 4 :)
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    thats cool :) its a neat little trick :) enjoy!
     

Share This Page