Resolved Rogers/fido (or any carrier i guess) wifi calling died?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Yun0, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. Yun0 Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #1
    since the morning before ios 9.3 beta 5 came out, rogers wifi calling deactivated itself & wont reenable. every so often itll say waiting for wifi calling activation, then the toggle will be off again. upon trying to enable it it just shows a blank screen for about 10 seconds then says to contact rogers. it was working fine before on ios 9.3 beta 4 & it died while still on beta 4 before i updated so its not beta 5 or the carrier 24.0.

    is anyone elses dead on rogers? or on any other carrier? i havent done anything to my account, its mine & only mine not shared, i did all the obvious like rebooting, resetting network, resetting all settings, trying to activate it on cell data, trying to activate through a vpn (google search told me to). all the same. wifi calling in location services also erased itself.
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    Wifi calling still active and working on my phone on beta 5. I'm with Rogers. You can even see in the screenshot in my YouTube thread you recently posted in. (Status Bar shows Rogers Wi-Fi) Which was taken only just over 2 hours ago.
     
  3. Yun0 thread starter Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #3
    would u be willing to to risk ur wifi calling by turning it off then trying to reenable it? even rogers is scratching their heads right now. u have rogers carrier 24.0 too right?
     
  4. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    I'm on Verizon in the US, and it may be thoroughly unrelated, but WiFi calling also stopped working on my phone. It worked fine after installing Beta 5, and worked fine up until today, at which point it just stopped. It still says Enabled, I can turn it off and turn it on again without error - it just doesn't actually route calls. The network name doesn't change to "VZW Wi-Fi" like it's supposed to, and I can't make calls from my house (normal without WiFi calling, sadly).

    Restarting and toggling it on and off didn't fix it. I was assuming it was probably a failure of whatever server it tries to connect to on Verizon's end and would sort itself out eventually, but now I'm not sure. I'd be interested to see if this is a wider issue with more people and more carriers.
     
  5. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
  6. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #6
    I have the carrier version Rogers 24.0 yes.

    I'm not sure I'm willing to sacrifice my wifi calling. I have low signal at home and kinda rely on it.
     
  7. Yun0, Mar 4, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2016

    Yun0 thread starter Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #7
    mine used to as of yesterday randomly silent turn on & hang at waiting for activation then toggle off again, now its just always off. when enabled it instantly pops up twice actually with only the second one being tappable, telling me to contact carrier to activate it.

    done that, also toggled between edge/3g/lte, sim pin on/off, removed sim & reinserted, reset network settings, reset all settings, restore to 9.3 b5 as new, restore to 9.3 b4 as new, restore to 9.2.1 as new. all doing it. rogers says they reset my profile multiple times, now im escalated to "senior technical staff".

    thats fine. the chance is fair that urs is still going but might die after toggle & not reactivate. this area of the city is expanding fast & was already pretty poor for coverage, + i live in a basement :/
     
  8. Suckfest 9001 macrumors 6502a

    Suckfest 9001

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Yup. Mine bombed itself too. When I try to activate it, it says please contact Rogers to enable Wifi calling.

    So yeah it's probably a beta bug, if not on Rogers' end right now.
     
  9. Yun0 thread starter Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #9
    should be on rogers' end, i did a restore as new to 9.2.1 & it did the same thing.
     
  10. venividivigor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #10
    my wifi calling for fido stopped working and fido is pretty much in the same network as rogers
     
  11. that be me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #11
    On Rogers and tried to enable WiFi calling for the first time. All goes well until it asks for my address for e-9-1-1.It doesn't accept it and doesn't give a reason why. Cancelling it disables Wifi Calling.
     
  12. F_PERRON macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    #12
    Same thing on my side, my wifi calling fido stopped working Thursday morning. I have an iPhone 6 on iOS 9.2.1.
     
  13. john991 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #13
    Mine stopped working too.

    I called Fido and it's at 2nd level support.
     
  14. sonsin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    #14
    Mine stopped working two months ago. It's on the second level support since mid-February. I'm on Fido. I know Rogers relased a carrier update (23.2) and it fixed most issues for wifi-calling, but Fido didn't realese it so far.
     
  15. john991, Mar 7, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2016

    john991 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #15
    I'm on Fido as well with iOS 9.3 beta 5 along with carrier update 24.0 and no go for me.

    Just got 2nd level support yesterday so I'll have to wait it out.
     
  16. sonsin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
  17. F_PERRON macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
  18. john991 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #18
    What happens when you select update address in settings?
     
  19. F_PERRON macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    #19
    I had the message "To allow Wi-Fi calling on this account, contact your carrier"
     
  20. john991 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #20
    That's what I get and I have no wifi calling
     
  21. john991 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #21
    Just updated to iOS 9.3 beta 6 and my wifi calling is still waiting to be activated. 10 minutes so far and stuck on activating. :(
     
  22. Yun0 thread starter Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #22
    still getting the same thing..& if u try to "reach out" to rogers on their forums like they so kindly invite u to, their robot like moderators just love to merge &/or delete ur posts instead of even replying with a single letter..
     
  23. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #23
    That's crazy it's still not working for some. Mine is still kicking and never got disabled. (Screenshot of my screen viewing the post I quoted. You can see Rogers Wi-Fi. On beta 6)
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Hype-149 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #24
    I've used all the 9.3 beta's and Wifi Calling on Rogers has worked fine in all of them. I'm mostly on Wifi Calling at home and whenever I'm near a Shaw Hotspot. My work blocks the port Wifi Calling uses so I can't use it there.
     
  25. Yun0 thread starter Suspended

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #25
    tried going to my local rogers plus, one rep risked his that was still working, to turn it off then back on to see if itll activate. now hes got the problem too, also iphone 6. they tried multiple sim cards & said i wont have to pay for any if none fix the issue, which none did, sims fine.

    now im escalated to tier 3..they promise ill get a response in 2 days of whats wrong, or that its fixed. at least i got a reference txt message this time after contacting them again..the live chat rep said im the first one reporting this problem & he was unaware of any issues :confused:
     

Share This Page