Running a Bootcamp partition of Windows 7 in Fusion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Xephrey, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. Xephrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #1
    I recently decided to go ahead and jump on the bandwagon and give Windows 7 Beta a try. I do like it... but it shutdown a couple times and.... well, it can't do that anymore without lingering in some stage for eternity. That sort of ruined it for me (reminds me of the good old 'Windows ME' days...). And yeah, I know it's a beta, but anyway - I'm trying to set it up as a Virtual Machine using the latest version of VMWare Fusion and... well, it says that the partition I had selected to make into a virtual machine had not shut down properly. :lol: It was right, but seeing as how it lacks the ability to shut down, I'm kind of in a silly situation. I can boot into Windows, using bootcamp, but it cant read my Fusion DVD without Explorer freezing up. Well, explorer can't seem to do much of anything without freezing up.

    Anyone have similar problems?

    I'm trying to be nice to Windows! :lol: I know it's beta software, but Explorer is barely functional and I can't shutdown or restart! But I know it has so much more potential cause I did manage to install Crysis on it and I did actually notice a performance boost from my good old Windows Server 2008 partition.

    Also, my MacOSX partition now lacks the ability to mount that bootcamp NTFS partition. Can they not play nice anymore?
     
  2. willjax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I had a few problems installing the BETA with parallels and would just delete the partition and re-install it.

    can you do that?
     
  3. Xephrey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #3
    I suppose I could. I wonder what I could do differently this next time around though.
     
  4. willjax macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    its actually pretty good, still looks pretty similar to vista though. I only installed it this morning so still playing with it.
     
  5. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #5
    Install MacFuse and NTFS-3G. You will get NTFS support on your Mac.

    As for your problems with Win7 in Fusion, I know there are a few issues with Win7 running in a VM. I believe this is due to Win7 using DirectX11, which is not supported by any VM software. As for it crashing when you install VMWare tools, I had no problems installing them in Win7 32 and 64bit. It worked without issue.

    Are you using the newest version of Fusion?
     

Share This Page