Running an external monitor at a higher res

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sleyeu, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. sleyeu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #1
    Ok let's say I have a mbp 15" and it runs at 1200 x 800 (for example)

    let's say I have an external monitor which is 24"

    Can I run that external monitor at 1900 x 1200 (I don't know the real resolutions)

    would it work? If not, why?

    Is there a way I could make the MBP run at a higher resolution so it looks like iMac resolution?
     
  2. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Yes you can. You will need an adapter if your dealing with the unibody models. Otherwise its good to go with the DVI port on the original MacBook Pros.
     
  3. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #3
    I have a MBP (1440x900) running an external monitor at 2560x1600. You just need the appropriate adapter for your MBP.
     
  4. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #4
    yep, you can run as high as your card can handle which is usually much higher than what the lcd that came with the MBP uses is.
     
  5. sleyeu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #5
    Great!

    Now I can have an iMac the shape of a laptop!

    Are these adapters expensive?
     
  6. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #6
    If you have a unibody MBP, Monoprice sells the adapters for $10-15 (much less than Apple charges) for monitors up to 1920x1200. If you get a monitor with higher resolution it gets more complicated. If it uses Dual-link DVI then you need Apple's $99 adapter, which has had a lot of complaints about not working correctly.
     
  7. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    Depending on your generation MBP, you may or may not need one. The older, non-unibody MBP's come with a dual link DVI out, a simple DVI cable will connect to any monitor you may want to have.

    I have an HP 2159 22'' 1920x1080 screen plugged in to my MBP at this very instant, works flawlessly.
     
  8. sleyeu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #8
    Alright, so it looks like Ill get what I can.

    However could you show me a picture of a MacBook pro running a higher resolution, so I can confirm what I'm thinking.

    Will the space between the dock and the size of the screen change?
    Like 10cms on a mbp and 25cm on the external monitor (just imaginary examples)
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    You choose which display is the primary if you plan on running both at once like I do.

    I keep the dock on the MBP's display and work on the external. Otherwise the appearance does not change, everything is the same size as on the native screen and etc, just plug it in and it works, period.
     
  10. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #10
    I run in clamshell mode with my external monitor. I don't need the 1440x900 screen of my laptop when using my external (which is 2560x1600 at home and 1920x1200 at work).
     

Share This Page