Safari 4.0 - No option to have new windows open in tab?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clarksonknight, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. clarksonknight macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    Just trying out Safari, as I've been a Firefox diehard for the last few years. The new Safari is slick, but it's maddening that when a hyperlink requests a new window (such as clicking Google Reader from within Gmail), there doesn't seem to be a way to assign this action to default into a new tab. Maybe I'm missing something, but I've been creeping through the preferences and I can't find it. I hate to be forced to right-click or command-click for this behavior!
     
  2. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #2
  3. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #3
    I had the same issue. This fixed it.

    Open Terminal.app (Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal). Then enter the following:
    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true

    Then restart Safari.
     
  4. LurkingIowan macrumors member

    LurkingIowan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    The Middle
    #4
    This also drives me insane. Why doesn't Apple just make this an option? I found a workaround quite a long time ago that just opens everything in a new tab by default- search around here and you'll find it I'm sure. Other than that Safari IMO is hard to beat if you're a Mac user.
     
  5. MartiNZ macrumors 65816

    MartiNZ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #5
    Cool, good to have this option back - down with new windows!

    Now if we could get Google search in toolbar localised properly!
     
  6. illitrate23 macrumors 6502a

    illitrate23

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location:
    uk
    #6
    i just click any hyperlink on a webpage with the middle mouse button - that automatically opens it in a tab instead of a new window (that's been the case certainly for all of Safari-3's life - not sure about version 2)
     
  7. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I have never liked Safari since I used version 2, and while this is the best one so far, it can't do some of the things FireFox can do. So, I am sticking with Firefox beta4. Although I love the ability to have your homepage load when you open a new tab like IE7. The FF add-on does not work with beta 4.

    Not everyone has a middle mouse button or is using a mouse.
     
  8. clarksonknight thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    Awesome tip! I wish I knew a little more about scripting on the Mac so I could dig up little tweaks like these.

    Another frustration: When I hit reply in Gmail, even though it shows a cursor in the reply text box, it apparently doesn't get focus until you actually click in the box. In FF, I hit reply and start typing, in Safari 4, I hit reply and start typing and crazy stuff happens depending on what I type. Any workaround for this, or am I forced to actually click or tab over to the text box?
     
  9. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #9
    I try entering this in Terminal, restart Firefox, and links still open in a new window from the Mail app. Is this command supposed to make links from other programs open in a new tab, or only links from inside Safari?
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    are you talking about safari? or firefox?
     
  11. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #11
    Sorry, I did mean Safari.:confused:
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    there is an safari plugin called "safaristand", which might help.
     
  13. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #13
    I'll check it out. Thanks
     
  14. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #14
    That fixes only links from inside Safari, but what you want is easily fixed in preferences.

    Preferences>General>Open links from applications>check "in a new tab in the current window"
     
  15. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #15
    Thats what I needed, thanks. I looked there to, but didn't see that down at the bottom.
     
  16. jon08 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #16
    Let me borrow this thread for a quick question:

    On some forums when I use the middle button on my mouse to open threads, it will then open that thread in a tab, yet automatically shift the current tab to that thread as well. It only happens on certain forums tho (NOT on MacRumors), why? (I'm using Safari 4.0.1)
     

Share This Page