SATAIII 6Gb/s SSD in optidrive in late-2008 Macbook 13" unibody (5,1)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JohnHa, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. JohnHa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I've been reading all the optical caddy and SSD threads 'til my eyes bled, and just wondering if anyone else has attempted to upgrade their late 2008 unibody Macbook 13".

    I want to breath new life into my old laptop and I am planning to get a Nimbitz or Fenvi optidrive from ebay and want to put a boot SSD in there, probably the Samsung 830 256GB. But, I've read here and on OWC's data doubler description page that putting a SATAIII drive into the optibay will result in only SATAI speeds (1.5Gb/sec).

    Has anyone else put a SATAIII 6.0Gb/sec drive into an optidrive bay on their late 2008 Macbook and are booting from it?

    Should I get a SATAII SSD instead, in the hopes that it will yield a more reliable 3.0 Gb/sec negotiated speed?

    I would prefer to get a 6.0Gb/sec drive because I will probably retire this laptop in the next 12-18 months and put the drive into my next laptop, probably a 15" MBP.

    Thanks,
    John
     
  2. Ant-honey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    #2
    No, you don't want to put a 6G SSD in your MBP's optical bay. I would check and see i you can get 6G speeds at all in that model year, even in the regular HDD bay.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Only the 2011 MBPs and up have S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) in the HDD bay, some of those even have S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) in the optical disk drive (ODD) slot.

    Anyway, I have my S-ATA 6.0 Gbps (S-ATA III) SSD (Vertex 3) in an optibay in my 2009 MBP, which only has S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) in both slots (HDD and ODD). It works for me, I only had to upgrade the firmware of the SSD.
     
  4. Ant-honey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    #4
    Yeah, that's what I thought.
     
  5. JohnHa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #5
    Um, I'm well aware that my 5,1 only has SATAII.

    ----------

    That's encouraging. Can I ask which optibay you have? Thanks!
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    www.hardwrk.com
     

Share This Page