Screenshots of Windows 3.1 running on my iPod under iDOS!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by lanulos, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. lanulos, Jan 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011

    lanulos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #1
    EDIT: Note: This is the NEW version of iDOS, 2.0.1, which just came out yesterday in the AppStore, not 1.0 which was Jobsbliterated after 1 day a few months ago.

    I copied seven 1.2M Win3.1 floppies into 7 folders, DISK1 thru DISK7, in the Documents folder of iDOS (free in AppStore), then ran SETUP.EXE in folder DISK1. Here are some screenshots:

    [​IMG]
    DISK3 I think...

    [​IMG]
    After DISK6.

    [​IMG]
    Getting ready to run the tutorial...

    [​IMG]
    clicking Reboot here dumped me back to iDOS. I killed iDOS then reopened, and ran "win" at the C: prompt.

    [​IMG]
    In Win3.1 File Manager (those were the days...not!)

    [​IMG]
    exiting file Manager.

    I must say everything is EGREGIOUSLY SLOW...But then what did I expect on my Touch3. Might be a lot better on an iPad or iPhone 4...
     
  2. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    Yeah this isnt anything particularly new. Its been out for a while now.
     
  3. lanulos, Jan 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011

    lanulos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #3
    This is the new iDOS 2.0.1 which just came out in the AppStore yesterday, not version 1.0 which came out a few months ago and was thrown out of the AppStore after one day. The author even said on his blog that:

    "The biggest change from iDOS 1.0: iTunes file sharing is now turned off.
    That means you will not be able to install windows nor games from your old disc collection."
    http://litchie.net/blog/?p=168
    Obviously that's not true. In fact, one of the comments on his blog describes how to install stuff without even being jailbroken. My touch is, but I'm going to try it on my daughter's unjailbroken one if I can keep it away from her long enough...

    EDIT: Tried it on the unjailbroken one (both are iOS 4.1 by the way) but found it very difficult to get into the app folder using iPhone Explorer, but I did succeed once, which was enough to install Win3.1. The newer version of iTunes must be fighting iPhone Explorer. (This was what the commenter in the link above used.)
     
  4. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
  5. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    Because it's there :D
     
  7. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #7
    I have it on my iPhone 4 but when i turn it sideways the screen goes black :(
     
  8. lanulos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #8
    That's a "feature". If you tap the top of the landscape screen there's a little transparent slide-down menu with different interface icons, so if you tap the keyboard icon, for instance, a transparent keyboard overlays the bottom of the screen. That's how I installed Win3.1. You can see the keyboard in one of my pics. The menu goes away when not in use, which is why it's not in my pics.
     
  9. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #9
    I meant I can't see windows when side cause of a bug making the picture disappear ... might be from 4.3 though. only works sideways in windowed mode not fullscreen
     
  10. lanulos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #10
    Oh. Well, I guess he won't have much incentive to update it since the Code Police have terminated it with extreme prejudice...I wonder if it works on 4.2.1. By the way, do you know if TinyUmbrella is saving SHSH's for 4.3 betas?

    But it's good that I am looking through forgotten areas of my closet for ancient game disks...I've found other stuff I'd thought I'd lost forever.
     
  11. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #11
    ...because you can!
     
  12. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #12
    Here's iDOS on my iPad running GeoWorks Ensemble (technically it is the later version of it known as New Deal Office 98)

    [​IMG]

    The blurriness of the image is due to the resizing of the screen capture.
     
  13. iPhoneCollector macrumors 6502a

    iPhoneCollector

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Home
    #13
    I bet thats better than vista. Can you browse the files on your ipad with that? And does internet and stuff like that work
    I hate to ask but can you install programs on the windows os?
     
  14. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
  15. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #15
    lol, Windows 95 on there.. I wonder how slow that went :D
     
  16. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #16
    lol it take like 10 seconds for the start menu to come up :confused: i clicked IE to test the net and it got a bsod :/ typical windoze
     
  17. SuperCachetes macrumors 6502a

    SuperCachetes

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    Away from you
  18. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #18
    Lemmings 1 and 2 work on it fine as well :D loving it but.. 3 works also but its really confusing to me to play :confused:
     
  19. iPhoneCollector macrumors 6502a

    iPhoneCollector

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Location:
    Home
    #19
    Bsod on the ipad. You had the best of both companies
     
  20. jmpnop macrumors 6502a

    jmpnop

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #20
    lol!:D
     
  21. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #21
    James May!
     
  22. Synthion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #22
    I laughed, I cried, I just about puked when I saw the Windows home screen. I'm so conflicted.:confused::eek::mad::p:D:(;):):eek::apple:
     
  23. Synthion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #23
    How did you do that? I could do it previously, but now they banned mounting root access? How can I do that?
     
  24. lanulos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #24
    Using iPhone Explorer on my daughter's unjailbroken one I had to try many times to get into the litchie folder under apps (it has an odd folder name starting with 8, on mine it's 8HLDK844H7.net.litchie.idos, I don't know if it's always that). I got in once, and then transferred the Win3.1 setup folders. I couldn't get in again after that. Now I can't even get in on my jailbroken one with iPhone Explorer; I think there's something wrong with the program. I have no trouble seeing root with any other utility on the jailbroken iPod.
     
  25. Brucewl macrumors 6502

    Brucewl

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #25
    Wow...it seems Windows 3.1 is totally different from Windows which released in recent decade.
     

Share This Page