Seagate 500gb, 7200rpm works with MacBook Pro EFI Firmware Update 1.7 works well

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HiFiGuy528, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    I just installed a Seagate 500gb, 7200rpm hard drive in my 13" MBP that was updated to EFI Firmware Update 1.7. Clean install of OS X and iLife '09 & iWork '09 went fast. It's quite and fast compared to my old Samsung 500gb, 5400rpm hard drive. It was worth the $120 I spent on it! :)
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Congrats! From what I understand it is a good drive
    I opted for the Scorpio Blue 500 GB 5400 myself

    Enjoy! I hope it gives you flawless service!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. PhixionFilms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deployed atm
    #3
    How much was your drive op? Im also looking to upgrading the 250gb that is coming with my macbook pro tomorrow.
     
  4. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #4
    I paid $120 on eBay. Newegg.com has it for $129.

    Here is the model number. Hope it helps. :)
    Seagate Momentus 7200.4 ST9500420AS
     
  5. Advil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    ah i'm jealous. i want to get a faster HD but i feel that 7200 will be too loud/hard on the battery life
     
  6. williamb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    #6
    Does your Seagate 7200rpm hard drive have the click/beeping issue? I ordered a BTO 3.06ghz unibody with the Seagate 7200pm, it hasn't come yet. But I think it will have this problem.
     
  7. PhixionFilms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deployed atm
    #7
    Thank you! I was just wondering. First off, i am a noob to HDD technology for some reason. Im a genius at everything else, but i always was stumped when it came to HDD's.

    So here is my question. If apple decided to, can they come out with a firmware update to disable the HDD? thats what im worried about.
     
  8. HiFiGuy528 thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #8
    No, there is no reason for Apple to do that. I think Apple updated the firmware because of the bad press they received on the lower speed.

    No clicking sound from hard drive at all. It is quieter than my old Samsung 500gb 5400rpm drive. As far battery life, I prefer to have faster startup, faster finder & app launch/performance than the little battery life I may lose.
     
  9. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    I have nothing to offer to this thread, but I had to tell someone...I got a WD 500 5400rpm on the bay, brand new, for $65 shipped. Woot. Of course, I'm probably not going to attempt to use it until Apple fixes this EFI 1.7 issue, assuming/hoping/praying they do.
     
  10. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #10
    Why not throw it in and at least see if it works? There have been mixed reports so all experiences haven't been negative.
     
  11. mcdj macrumors G3

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    well on a 13" MBP, that would involve about 12 screws, and I assume I'd have to clone the original drive to it before knowing if it works, yes? That's at least 2 hour's investment, which is a lot if it doesn't work.
     
  12. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #12
    The screws are all of a 2 minute procedure. You don't have to clone the drive. Just pop in the new one, format if needed and load Leo from install DVD. If you have a cheap $6 ebay enclosure to pop your old drive into, use migration asst. via USB/FW on fresh system boot prompt.

    If it doesn't work, throw the old one back in and boot. At least you'll know. Don't put all the screws back in until you see if it works.
     
  13. nizmoz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #13
    Easier to clone. Wish I could use my WD 500gb Scorpio Blue. :( Dang Firmware.
     

Share This Page