Seriously thinking of jumping over to OS X from Windows. Few Questions Inside

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by geokarbou, Dec 11, 2015.

1. geokarbou macrumors member

Hello everyone,

I am a relative newbie around here, have posted just a couple of times, but in the last few months I have been reading these forums daily and I am trying to get some real sense of Macs and OSX.

I have been a Windows user my entire life and I have zero experience with OSX or even IOS. Not because I have something against Apple or anything like that, but simply because my first PC was a PC and as a child I wanted to be able to play games...that's how I stuck with windows machines.

Too many years have passed since then and lately I am contemplating on getting a macbook (I wrote a thread about it in the Macbook section). There are a few features that have caught my eye and intrigued my interest.

Since I have absolutely no freaking idea about OSX and what I win/lose migrating from Windows, what my advantages are and what my disadvantages (in relevance to my needs), I'd appreciate it if you could shed some light into it.

I am a business consultant/analyst and professional copywriter, so 80% of my workload is performed through a browser: SaaS, Google Apps, Emailing, etc etc.

I don't use any specific piece of software except for the office suite of course and Visio sometimes (I know this isn't available on MACs).

But apart from these, everything I do I do it through a browser window. Furthermore I do a lot of reading, TONS of typing and really really heavy internet use (20+ heavy tabs open simultaneously).

I don't care much about anything else operating-system-wise, just want a stable, smooth operating system that works as intended and it is pleasing to the eye :)

How will I find the transition over to OSX? I am planning on keeping a Windows laptop laying around for when absolutely needed but I would like to make OSX my main operating system.