Set Up as New or Restore from iCloud

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thomamon, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. thomamon macrumors 6502a

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #1
    Anyone know what they are doing yet?

    I'm thinking of just setting up as new and reorganizing everything.
     
  2. TroyBoy30 macrumors 68000

    TroyBoy30

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta GA
  3. Shasta McNasty macrumors 6502a

    Shasta McNasty

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    #3
    Setting up as new, saving contacts in iCloud though to transfer back on once setup.
     
  4. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #4
    I always restore from a backup. Haven't had a problem myself.
     
  5. dialed1 macrumors 6502

    dialed1

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    Utah
  6. richpuer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #6
    If you restore from the itunes back up on the new iphone 5, will it be EXACTLY as you had it on the iphone 4? I might have to sell mine before getting the 5 if they run out of stock and my locked price will expire on oct 2.

    Dont want to lose any data that i have saved in my business expense apps...
     
  7. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    I remember all the times when setting up from backup was not recommended because if any software flaws were present before then they will come up again, but has ios not improved to the point to where this isn't an issue any more?
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I've always restored from a backup without any problems.
     
  9. i-John macrumors 6502a

    i-John

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    The Republic of Texas
    #9
    Always restore from backup. I want my texts and images back on there without hassle.
     
  10. richpuer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #10
    if all your apps are on ios5 would it be compatible with the new 6 without data loss?
     
  11. SCOfoshO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #11
    my iphone 4 is still synced with my old mac. I have a Retina now and want to sync my 5 to it. Now I have put all my iTunes/icloud info into the new comp, just haven't transferred file/photos/music yet.

    So my question is if I restore the phone will I still get my photos and texts etc on the new phone? Or do I have to connect to my old computer and restore it through there to truly get everything?
     

Share This Page