Set up Mac OS X SL for another Macbook?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dborja, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    Our son is on duty in S Korea and his hard drive failed. Will it work if I set up a new HD with my family-pack SL here in the US and send it over to him?

    I have an MB Air and he has a late '07 Macbook. I think it will work but I want to double check.

    TIA,
    Dale
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #3
    yah it'll work. the initial boot might be slow because it has to figure out what new drivers to use. but ye, SL comes with drivers for all the hardware it can run on.
     
  4. dborja thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    Thank you both!

    It's easier to ship drives than Macbooks. He sent me his dead drive and I was able to recover his data. Now I'm setting up a new drive and I'll just migrate his data back in...
     
  5. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    Well MacSales ships directly to APO addresses. I bet he would love an SSD drive for his Mac Book. It would feel like a new laptop with an SSD.
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    So does B&H ... that's where I got mine from.
     
  7. dborja thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    Thanks for the tips. I had to recover the data from the bad disk which he sent me, though, and then set it up. I'm the nerd in the family...

    He needs a lot of space so an SSD with the right capacity for him is cost-prohibitive for now.
     

Share This Page