Setup High Sierra MBP from Mojave Time Machine?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Fubar1977, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #1
    Hi

    Sorry if this has already been asked and its been a while since I upgraded so...

    I`m picking up a new 13" 2018 MBP today which I believe has High Sierra installed. My current 13" MBP has Mojave installed.

    I usually setup my new MBP`s from my existing Time Machine Backup but will a Mojave TM backup be able to set up a High Sierra MBP or should I set it up as a new machine, update it to Mojave and then restore it from Time Machine?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #2
    I would update the new machine to Mojave. Then I’d migrate the old machine over. There is no need for Time Machine.
     
  3. mikzn macrumors 65816

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #3
    I agree with chabig you can upgrade new MBP to Mojave and then migrate info from old MBP to new MBP, but this will require a special cable or can be done over wifi (slower?).

    It might be faster and easier to use the time machine back up drive if it is current and up to date to pull the migration data from

    here is a link - How to move your content to a new Mac
     
  4. Fubar1977 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #4
    Thanks guys I thought that would be the case. I`ll update the new one first and then migrate.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

3 November 5, 2018