Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kingsize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2009
Hey guys,

i got my MBA 13" 2.13 GHz, 4gb ram, 256gb ssd around christmas. I purchased it at my local apple store (no reseller!) with the option to return it until 8th of january. it was a lot of money and now i wonder whether it is really worth it since the new sandy bridge cpu's are in the line!

here are some pros and cons from my point of view...
MBA:
+ lightweight
+ very handy and stylish
+ ssd
- old cpu
- missing gigabit ethernet port (i got a NAS for filestorage)
- missing audio input for external microphone
- not as fast as i want it to be (espacially for cs:s gaming and movie editing)

POSSIBLE new mbp 15":
+ new and faster cpu
+ audio input
+ gigabit ethernet
+ option for antiglare display
- not as slim as the MBA

What do you guys think? Should i return it and wait a couple of weeks for the new MBP? This question makes me really nervous ;)

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Do you have a computer what you can use in the meanwhile? There is no guarantee that MBPs will be updated within few weeks. It may as well be in April.

This is purely your choice. If you think the MBP suits you better, then go ahead and return it. Since you had to ask, it sounds like MBP might be better choice for you.

Kingsize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2009
You might be right. Maybe a MBP would be better for me. The thing is... i thought of buying a MBP before i purchased my MBA, but i couldn't accept paying a lot of money for an old peace of Hardware which will be updated most likely in Q1/early Q2 2011.

I can use a computer meanwhile. Unfortunately it is not a Macbook. Mh..

Squadleader

macrumors regular
Jun 16, 2010
Avalon Hill