Should I buy a MBP 17" on Black Friday or before then if I am a student?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by deathbyfugu, Nov 19, 2009.

1. deathbyfugu macrumors newbie

If I were to wait until Black Friday to order from the Apple Store would the discount on MBP 17" models be worth waiting for (i.e. is it much better than the Student Discount?) and has the Black Friday discount ever been stackable with the Education pricing? Thanks in advance.

Deathbyfugu

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Who knows.

Black Friday is a week away, just wait and see for yourself. There's plenty of rumors about what may and may not be on sale. Just wait 8 days and you'll see for yourself.

3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Just wait - there is only a risk that you get a better deal.

4. kolax macrumors G3

Get it with student discount. For a 17", it'll be around 15% off. Black Friday might be up to that much. But, you get 3 years AppleCare for only ~$100 with student discount, which is a big saving.

Not sure if there is any printer rebates on at the moment for students, worth checking.

5. deathbyfugu thread starter macrumors newbie

Alright, sounds good! Sorry I probably sounds terribly impatient (because I am!), but I suppose that it is the best option for me.

6. deathbyfugu thread starter macrumors newbie

The Applecare is $240 with the Education Discount...

7. kolax macrumors G3

Are you just checking the education store? Or are you in "higher" education? To view the higher education store (which has much higher discounts) you need to access it from your campus network, assuming you are eligible for the higher education store (college/university).

8. mdoog macrumors newbie

It is $183 for my college. Not quite your ~$100

9. kolax macrumors G3

Well, it is £60 in the UK, which at current exchange rate is $100.