Should I buy retina or non-retina? w/Apple offered discounts

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by parth6512, Aug 16, 2012.

1. parth6512 macrumors member

I bought a refurbished unibody macbook pro but have had problems since I bought it. So I called Apple and they told me to return that unit and they will offer me 10% + $100 off any new unit.

Here is the break down of the cost after taxes and discounts (10% + $100):

2.3 Ghz Base Non-Retina Mid-2012 - $1653
    2.3 Ghz Retina Base - $2044

Along with the discount, CR rep offered me free $200 worth of accessories for the inconvenience. Would it be better to buy the retina to future proof my purchase or go with the non-retina model. Im an Engineering student and will need both Windows and Mac so VMware is a must. I will also be running few math intensive apps such as Autocad, Mathcad, Maplesoft and such. I listen to lot of music and watch tons of videos on my free time. Im assuming with retina model, I can play high-def videos on there too.

2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

both machines are amazing. I was skeptical about the rMBP because of all the horror stories Ive read, but I decided to give it a try since I had 14 days to return it anyway.

Needless to say, Its amazing and I love it. I thankfully have 0 issues with mine thus far. I still think the cMBP is amazing too, especially if you get the High-Res 1680x1050 display.

I put it this way, I was going to get a base cMBP because of the price. Then after thinking, I realize after buying 16GB 1600MHz ram on newegg.com for $110 and the $90 screen upgrade (total $200), I could get the base rMBP with 16GB added ram for $180 and have better resolution.

Also, I didnt want the rMBP because I wanted to add a 2nd HDD in the optibay of the cMBP, but I decided a USB3.0 external HDD would be sufficient enough for my needs. After being on this rMBP, Im so glad I got it. Its amazing.