Should I Buy The Apple TV 4th Gen For My 4k TV or Wait For The Apple TV 5th Gen?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by gregpod9, Mar 10, 2017.

1. gregpod9 macrumors regular

I currently have high end Sony 4k TV, a highend Sony Bluray player, and the new Nvidia Shield TV that I bought over a month ago. I'm into Apple ecosystem at home with a mid 2014 high end 15" MBPr, 9.7" 128GB iPad Pro, and an iPhone 7 Plus. I'm a self-employed hardware tech that deals mostly with Windows PCs. I know that there is not much 4k streaming material out there. I'm at the point that I'll be going all digital for movies. For streaming 1080P material either from Netflix and Vudu, I use my Sony blu-ray player, because it has better picture quality due my tv's excellent 4k upscaling. My Nvidia Shield TV makes the picture quality lack in detail, sharpness, and color fidelity even if I put it in 1080p mode and 4k mode. I also don't like the Vudu customer support, it takes them a few weeks to answer emails and 3 hours to get hold of somebody on the phone. I been thinking of switching to iTunes for movies.

My question is should I buy the Apple TV now and let my tv upscale the movies to 4k and sell it when the 5th Gen Apple TV comes available or wait for the 5th Gen Apple TV?

2. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

Richdmoore

I would at least wait until the next Apple keynote event (rumored the end of March/beginning of April.)

I personally doubt they will update the Apple TV hardware this year, but I have been wrong in the past.

3. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

HobeSoundDarryl

Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)