Should I make the jump to 8 GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Anarkiwi, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Anarkiwi macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I'm weeks away from purchasing my first 17" Macbook Pro and I was wondering, is it worth it to pay the extra for 8 GB of RAM?
    As some background and how I'll be using it:
    I am a college student in video game art and design so I will be doing a lot of 3D editing/rendering along with programming and a lot of two-dimensional graphic design.
    Given my main uses for it (possibly gaming as well) I was hoping you guys could help answer my question.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Keep your eye on Activity Monitor and see how much RAM you're using. If you're using +75% (free + inactive), then you should think about upgrading.

3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

Good idea to keep an eye on them, but you more so need to keep looking at the amount of page outs and the swap file. If you are using multiple GB page outs then you most likely will need to get more ram.

:)

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Page outs are caused by the lack of free RAM ;) Keeping an eye on both is the best :cool:

5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

lol. used up RAM != needing new RAM :p but page outs can indicate how hard the computer has to actually work.

6. Gakboi macrumors regular

yes definitely... In my experience the more power the better (processor and ram) if you are rendering in 3D.... ideally tho i would go for the top of the range i7 imac for what you are doing unless you absolutely need the portability. I find that I am maxing out all 4 cores when rendering HD video but not nearly maxing out the 12GB ram. Haven't tried any 3D on it yet.