Should I max out at 16GB of RAM in my MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dontwalkhand, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    I love messing around in VMWare and Parallels, and I also love playing around in other OSes in VMs such as the new developer preview in Windows 8. I also refuse to leave the Mac OS platform while doing so (it is nice to be able to three finger swipe between OSes).

    Should I max out at 16GB of RAM for my MBP? Where do you guys recommend I buy this RAM from? I know that Crucial has a 16GB kit for my MBP for $120.
     
  2. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #2
    That is up to you. If you find that your current set up is paging out lots during your normal activities, then yes you should. If your current usage patterns don't cause that to happen and you have free memory being reported, then No save your money. I work support and routinely have 3 VM images open (and networked between them to recreate issues customer are seeing) and OSX with Safari, FirFox, Mail, iCal, and other apps in use and for me it was a necessity as my page out were in the GBs of memory. Has made all of the difference, but I am not the normal everyday user.

    It is all a matter of opinion and price. Currently I think only Corsair, Crucial, Patriot, and OWC are offering kits that large, but all have good results (although OWC is the priciest).
     
  3. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
  4. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    Nope! At least not current Sandy Bridge models.
     
  5. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #5
    I don't see a point to having 16GB just to say you have it. Yes, it's coming down in price, but unless it's actually going to help the performance of your MBP, there's probably something better you could spend that money on. Look at your activity monitor and see if adding more RAM will actually do some good, then decide if you need it.
     
  6. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    I checked on Apple's website and even on 17" MBP's it says 8GB's.

    So what am I missing?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    MacTracker app says otherwise :) Apple doesn't sell more than 8GB, but the logic board will support accepting up to 16GB.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. BreakGuy macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #8
    I concur. I checked myself and found no evidence to support a 16GB RAM upgrade.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  10. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #10
    Wow seriously guys? The SandyBridge MBPs can support 16GB ram and even 1600MHZ ram even though apple doesnt state this.

    I'm running 8GB 1600MHz ram, but will be upgrading soon to 16GB as well. I do believe only the Quad-Core CPUs can support 1600MHz ram though, or maybe its just QC i7s. Cant recall.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...lue=3091:193110&PropertyCodeValue=3091:193111

    ----------


    Uh.... where?
     
  11. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    Thanks that helps.
     
  12. billli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON, Canada
    #12
    MFW I found out that my MBP can support up to 16GB of memory.

    I wonder if the OS/Application will be able to see the additional memory without any hacks.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    Of course.
     
  14. billli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON, Canada
    #14
    Hmm... Well I do have a pair of 4GB sticks (but 1033mhz) that I can use in the meantime until the price of 16GB 1600mhz ram comes down in price.
     
  15. NutsNGum, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011

    NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #15
    If anyone's in the States, this seems like a pretty decent option for those after 16GB.

    $199.99 16GB RAM Newegg

    $169.99 after rebate. Insanely good price.
     
  16. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #16
    So far 1600MHz has been stable in all the Sandybridge 2011 Macs. 1866 is listed as PnP for Sandybridge i5 and i7. I can confirm it works in the Sandybridge i7. I do not have an i5 to test with.
     
  17. SurferMan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #17
    On your 09' Pro???? I always thought before Sandy Bridge you were capped at 8 GB?
     
  18. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #18
    Indeed, Im waiting for it to hit $150 or less.
     
  19. Guy Mancuso macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #19
    Been running 16gbs for about 2 months . Early 2011
     
  20. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #20
  21. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #21
  22. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #22
    http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php?topic=97450.0
     
  23. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #23
    The late 2011 2.2GHZ will only run 1333mhz ram, but will still accept 16GB.
     
  24. xijote7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #24
    Memory

    I will do it without asking! I did it and my MBP works better with all the crap I have on it. www.omc.com is the site I got it from; very good service. they specialized on OSX. :p:apple:
     
  25. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #25

Share This Page