Should I take a Higher Paying job, having a tough time deciding! Help me out!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by BillHarrison, Jul 9, 2012.

1. BillHarrison macrumors 6502

Hi all. I am a long time forum member and since many here at the forum probably are well trained and have financial degrees (Something I don't have and have never done well with!) I am asking for any opinions educated or otherwise!

I am an auto mechanic, with many years experience (I am 36 and have been working on cars in some way since I graduated). I have no college degree, only a high school diploma. I am ASE certified in 4 areas.

I worked for a small used car lot from 2004 until Dec 2011, when I was laid off due to slow sales. I took a position at a New Car dealer then, for less than I was making working at the used car lot, partially because I was out of work and partially because I was interested in receiving further training which could be provided by the dealership. The dealership had 4 brands, Subaru, Porsche, Audi and Mazda. I primarily started working with Mazda and Subaru, and started at 14$ per hour, paid hourly.

A few weeks ago I was referred by an acquaintance to someone who needed some help at a garage, somewhat of a freelance position. I did a small job for him, and he was impressed and offered to hire me full time as he had lost his main mechanic. This is a small shop, not a branded dealership, that primarily does work for a local rv shop, and his friends and family. He initially offered a dollar more than I was making, which I declined.