Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cyborg21

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 2, 2013
Hello, I am new to Macs.
I want my MacBook Pro to last as long as possible. I read some articles about lithium batteries and MacBook Pro Batteries. I read battery FAQ on website of Apple too but It wasn't clear enough. So should I use my MacBook Pro plugged in all the time to lower cycle counts or will it cause harm to battery? Thank you and sorry for my bad english.

MartinAppleGuy

macrumors 68020
Sep 27, 2013
Hello, I am new to Macs.
I want my MacBook Pro to last as long as possible. I read some articles about lithium batteries and MacBook Pro Batteries. I read battery FAQ on website of Apple too but It wasn't clear enough. So should I use my MacBook Pro plugged in all the time to lower cycle counts or will it cause harm to battery? Thank you and sorry for my bad english.

No. I would recommend discharging the battery fully once every month, and partial charges every other time.

You could leave it on charge all the time, but if you ever have to take it off, battery life will be almost unusable.

joeblow7777

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2010
I love how the first two comments responses totally contradict. The poor OP won't know what to do!

The simple truth of the matter is this: if you can plug in your computer, plug it in to save battery cycles. HOWEVER, Li-ion batteries do last longer when they get some exercise, so every few weeks or so make sure to run it off the battery. A full discharge/recharge about once a month is recommended.

Menge

macrumors 6502a
Dec 22, 2008
Amsterdam
I had a 2008 MacBook Pro which stayed plugged in all the time and until last year, the battery was severely discalibrated and in the end the computer would suddently shut down without warning.

I would recommend using it unplugged frequently and discharge/recharge (make the battery work).

kage207

macrumors 6502a
Jul 23, 2008