Show me your iMac 27" with 2nd monitor.....

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Decked, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. Decked macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #1
    I went to my local Apple store today looking to buy an iMac with a 2nd screen.
    However, having had a good look around, the 2 screens don't look the same. The main monitor is brushed aluminium and the 2nd screen is glass/black. I didn't put them side by side, but it's kind of put me off a little.
    Secondly, due to the main monitor being on the left, when you want to insert a disc or SD card, the second monitor in the way. Can you just make the 2nd monitor the main screen?
    If anyone has any pics of their setup as described that would be great.

    Thanks
     
  2. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    I know on my MacBook Pro, you can arrange the monitors anyway you want. Either on either side, or either on top or bottom of each other. Whatever you want. I'm sure the iMac is exactly the same. Just put the iMac screen on your right.
     
  3. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #3

    This is more of an overall OS X feature. Of course, so long as the hardware can support it as well.
     
  4. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #4
    Thanks, I'm new to Mac but I'm very interested and I know if I do get the iMac it will be a better setup to my PC.
     
  5. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #5
    irreverent question ..but how to do you connect imac to a another monitor?
     
  6. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    mini-display port adapter to DVI or VGA (depending on your extra monitor and what connections it can do).
     
  7. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #7
    Here is a pic of my imac next to the ACD 27. Next week I am gonna get the dell u2711 as a second monitor for the imac and connect the acd to the mbp. If you want I can post pics of the updated setup.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Meyvn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #8
    My setup is identical to this one; though I am considering getting some kind of "shim" to put underneath the 27" ACD.

    Btw, frapp, aren't you worried the u2711 being antiglare and CCFL will bother you as far as matching the iMac is concerned?

    Anyway, the industrial design is slightly different (there's aluminum on the 27" ACD, it just doesn't have that lower bezel because that's not necessary; there's no computer inside it).

    Just a tip, for color matching, if anyone's interested, I've found turning the iMac to "Epson sRGB" and the ACD to "Apple RGB" is excellent. This setting also helps to deepen the blacks on these uber-bright LED beasts. If you need Adobe RGB, it's going to be a little more work.
     
  9. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #9

    Very nice. But seeing the ACD next to the 27" iMac, I can't help but think that you would want it elevated if that is your setup.
     
  10. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I hate to hijack this thread but I was curious about the need for a second monitor. I do photography myself and do heavy amounts of photo editing. I can definitely see the usefulness for a second monitor as a workspace or for presentation purposes. However, with Spaces built into OS X and with the screen real estate of a 27" iMac and/or an ACD for a Mac Pro, what would you really need a second monitor for?

    I'm not looking down on doing this in anyway as I have considered it myself for my setup. This is just out of curiosity.
     
  11. Meyvn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #11
    It isn't about need; it's about preference.

    Yes, you can absolutely use Spaces, or you could have smaller (but adequate) multiple windows open.

    But some people prefer to arrange their windows a certain way. I have 2 displays because I like to have one with my browser window, media aggregator, mail, note-taking application, and instant messaging software visible whenever possible. And when I am working in Final Cut or iWeb, it's nice to be able to do other things in the meantime without having to hunt. Exposé is great, but it's not always enough, and Spaces just doesn't integrate well into my personal workflow. Frankly, in Final Cut it's absolutely necessary to take up the entire screen. It just doesn't work any other way. So if I want to do *anything* else in the meantime, I pretty much have to get a second monitor to do it efficiently. To tell you the truth, I'm even considering attaching my old 1080p 23" for a third (vertical) monitor via that NewerTech USB thingy; great for reading comics without scrolling, as well as word processing & web browsing.
     
  12. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #12
    Thanks, That would be great.
    Looking at the pic the screens aren't exactly at the same height, can you move it up/down? It also looks a bit smaller, or is that just because the bezel is smaller?
     
  13. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #13
    I'm simply after a 2nd screen on my setup because it's what i'm used to. I can run email and 2/3 apps at the same time (dragging/dropping) between them without having to minimise/maximise apps.
     
  14. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #14
    Regarding the u2711, yes I've thought of that. I've only had the chance to see the two monitors side by side in some youtube videos so I can't be sure if I am gonna like it or not. If not I'll then go back to my current setup and use the u2711 as the main monitor to my pc setup.

    I've searched many stores here in Greece in order to find something to put underneath the acd (apart from a book or something like it). I tried the Xstand MTable ST-288 but that makes the acd taller than the imac. Any ideas are welcome although it probably wont be available here...
     
  15. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #15
    You can't move them up/down.
    They are both 27''. It may looks smaller because of the way the photo was taken or because acd is shorter. I don't think it's due to bezel being smaller.
    It even looks smaller to me when I look at them from 4-5m distance. One time I put a book under the acd and matched them at height and all of a sudden acd and imac perfectly matched.
    Maybe I am overreacting but I find the height issue very annoying (this is why I'm gonna buy the u2711 which is height adjustable). I've read various "reasons" as to why apple makes them like that (I think it was the same issue with imac 24 and acd 24) but I don't find them convincing. There are even some people saying that the two shouldn't necessarily match. Anyway, my personal opinion is that is stupid and annoying, but nevertheless ACD is a great monitor.
     
  16. cheeseblock macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    #16
    i didn't think this question was very irreverent at all :D
     
  17. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #17
    If the 2nd screen (ACD - what does this stand for?) was 1.5 inches higher up I think it would look fine. Like attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #18
    ACD=Apple Cinema Display
    1 inch would be ok.
     
  19. Heilage macrumors 68030

    Heilage

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #19
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Macessity/STANDBYMI2/

    I don't know how much you need the ACD27 raised, but I use this to level an iMac 24 with an ACD 23.
     
  20. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #20
  21. Decked thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #21
    Thanks, that's the sort of thing it needs, just annoying it doesn't come with an adjustable height bracket on the Apple rear.
     
  22. Bmproductions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #22
    2 iMacs

    Maybe you've already thought about it but you can hook up another iMac to act as the second screen. You might get a refurb 27" for the price of a 27" acd. Than you even have a spare iMac to be a server or something ;)
     
  23. Heilage macrumors 68030

    Heilage

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #23
  24. frappedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #24

Share This Page