Sigh… I don't get it. [responsiveness opening multiple QT movies]

Discussion in 'iMac' started by StephenCampbell, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. StephenCampbell macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #1
    On my 2006 Mac Pro, I could select 200 low-resolution quicktime movies and command them to open all at once. They would arrange themselves in diagonal rows on the screen and be ready to go within seconds.

    On my 2013 iMac I had to wait two or three minutes until they had all finished 'loading' and were all ready to go. Even then, the responsiveness in moving windows around was slightly laggy, and the volume control wouldn't move in any of the videos.

    Is this reflective of the tower vs. all-in-one, even across 7 years? Is it indicative of Mountain Lion becoming clumsier at handling these kinds of things?

    I don't get it. And yes, I do need adequate performance with this kind of thing, as I have thousands of old low-resolution quicktime clips that I like to sort through to rediscover gems and what not, and I like to just open them all at once and move them around and watch different ones, etc.
     
  2. jordanm86 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #2
    What was the spec of your old Mac Pro? Looking at your signature, your iMac looks pretty high spec so is it possible it is a software related issue ie. they've changed something in OSX or QuickTime and the way they handle files? Personally, I find quicktime VERY laggy now. I can open a video shot on my phone in about 2 secs on VLC but if I open it in quicktime, it takes about 4-5 secs of just 'hanging' and then it will play.
     
  3. StephenCampbell thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #3
    Yeah, I guess it must be something software related then.

    I actually just tried to do it in QuickTime 7, and after assembling a few of those diagonal rows pretty quickly it chocked up, spun the beach ball for about ten seconds, and then unexpectedly quit.

    Seriously? :mad:
     
  4. TyPod macrumors 68000

    TyPod

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    And Yourself?
  5. StephenCampbell thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #5
    My 2006 Mac had the power to do so. Even if I didn't need to there is something VERY wrong with the fact that my 2013 Mac cannot.
     
  6. fig macrumors 6502a

    fig

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    You might test it in an older version of Quicktime. I have QT Pro 7 installed on my machine and use it for everything, the newer QT always seems laggy to me.
     
  7. StephenCampbell thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #7
    Well the newer QT was never laggy on my Mac Pro.

    And I did test it in QT 7 too, they started opening and loading much quicker, but then chocked up and quit.
     

Share This Page