Sims 3 - How can I change info in the tginstall.plist file?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by LinaPH, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. LinaPH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #1
    Some time ago I installed a game called World of Goo which were supposed to only
    work with Leopard 10.5 or higher. Then I changed some info in the info.plist file and were
    able to run the game.
    I thought that it might work with The Sims 3 too, if I change this info in the tginstall.plist file to 10.4.11:

    <key>MinimumSystemVersion</key>
    <string>10.5.3</string>

    I tried to change it but I couldn't save the document. How will I be able to change the info and save it?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Maybe the file is locked or you don't have the appropriate permissions.

    Have a look at the Get Info windows of the file (CMD+I or right click > Get Info).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. LinaPH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #3
    Thanks!

    It is locked though. Is there a way to unlock it?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Does un-checking the "Locked" field not work?
     
  5. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #5
    Where it says "Everyone" and next to that "Read only", click that, change it to "Read & Write", do that same for "staff" too (just in case :p).

    Make sure that padlock symbol is unlocked, if it's locked, it won't allow you to change any of that, but just click it, it'll unlock, ask for your password, and you're good to mess with the settings :)

    Try then.
     
  6. LinaPH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    spinnerlys -
    No it dosen't work :/

    Schtumple -
    I might be dumb, but I can't find padlock to that file :S

    It lookes like this, and its on swedish, but it only says that I only can read. It is like thie first pic that Sinnerlys attaced. It says "ownership and premission" at the bottom. :/http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/attach/png.gif
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #7
    Can I just ask, is this "tginstall.plist" in the installer package, or the game package?
     
  8. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #8
    Judging from your picture, you are trying to edit the file on the CD. You can't save it back to the CD! Try copying the contents of the CD to your desktop, then edit the file. It may then allow you to install from the copied folder, depending on their CD check stuff.
     
  9. LinaPH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #9
    haha, how embarrasing! How could I not think of that? :p
    I'll try copying the files too the computer then! Thanks guys!
     
  10. LinaPH thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    it didn't work, or maby I'm doing something wrong again :p
    I guess I'll just have to upgrade my macbook to Leopard :p
     

Share This Page