Siri in Canada ...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nodootabooteet, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. nodootabooteet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #1
    Using Siri in Alberta, Canada I asked "Where is the closest Tim Hortans?" and it responded with "I can't find restraunts in Canada.". So then I tried "Where am I?" and it said "I can find maps or directions in Canada.".

    What the hell is that about? Is Siri only good for thoes types of services in the United States? Is anybody elese in Canada having these problems?

    Thanks
     
  2. TM WAZZA macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    #2
    Stuff like business searches is only available in US atm. Other countries will have in 2012.
     
  3. nodootabooteet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #3
    Siri was pushed really hard as a huge part of the new iPhone however I did not see any information that it's use would be limited outside the States. Must have missed that memo.
     
  4. kunaalarria macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    It was left out of Canadian ads/website because of this.
     
  5. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #5
    Remember its still in Beta, as much as Apple has marketed it and pumped it up, it has limitations outside the US at the moment, something I am sure they will quickly address....patience.
     
  6. scousers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #6
    Try Starbucks.... it may be able to recognize proper coffee.:D:cool:
     
  7. Sakic10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #7
    yeah i noticed, but it can use wolfram alpha which i thought was going to be us only as well, so thats a plus.

    i'm still loving it actually, responding to text messages, setting reminders its awesome.

    i don't think it gives you enough time to think though, its always cutting me off half way through my sentence.
     
  8. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I believe it was stated in the iPhone keynote that mapping functions only in the states.
     
  9. nodootabooteet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
  10. lowedwayne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #11
    now that iphone 4s is jailbreakable

    is it possible to enable certain features via cydia or editing a plist or something? apple just disabled the features just like 3g facetime. there is got to be a faster way. id pay for siri to work right.
     

Share This Page