Skeuomorphism, Layers, Flat v. 3D and Polished Design … 2 steps forward, 1 step back

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by uhaas, Sep 1, 2013.

?

Are you satisified with the UI improvements in iOS7?

1. Yes, it rocks!

74 vote(s)
    60.2%
  2. It could still use a little help.

55 vote(s)
    44.7%
  1. uhaas macrumors 6502

uhaas

Sorry for the long post….

I’ve been a developer for years: I’m used to object-oriented design and MVC architecture. I’ve also designed quite a few UIs. I’m running iOS 6 still, but have watched most of the WWDC videos, other iOS 7 videos, read hundreds of threads and thousands of posts on iOS 7.

My first PDA was a Newton, then a PocketPC, a WinMo phone and finally an iPhone. One of the reasons I switched to the iPhone was the break in carrier distribution of the OS. When a phone has a bug, Apple will fix it and distribute it fairly quickly (often within a few months). Other OSes wait for a carrier to release an OS update, often lagging months for a particular model of phone and usually only one or two updates before abandoning updates entirely for newer model phones. In this area, Apple has the superior distribution model. Apple will drop support for older devices, but usually years beyond competitors. I read an article the other day stating of mobile OSes out there, Android has 79% of security threats and malware, mostly because holes are not plugged because people are running older OSes (like Gingerbread). This alone will keep me on iOS forever.