So can my Imac run off 3gb of Ram??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BeatFanatix, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. BeatFanatix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    I got 2gb of ram in today and im new with computers in adding and removing ram, My friend told me that i have 2 1gb ram sticks in my iMac and since I bought only 1 2gb stick of ram then im only gonna have 3 total gigs of ram, one, is he right and two he said im not gonna be able to tell the difference of having 3gb of ram compared to just 2, please help guys im a noob at this stuff, thanks
    Andrew
     
  2. nusynergy macrumors regular

    nusynergy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Kent - UK
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    If you don't pageout with 2GB, you won't notice it hardly at all.

    If you do tend to smack against your 2GB, then the 3GB will help.

    All depends on the programs you use.

    Generally the 2GB is what you need with the iMac and Leopard, and the rest is making the experience better at times.
     
  4. BeatFanatix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #5
    will my imac run off 3gb

    I bought it july of 2008, from the apple website, i dont think it was the 2009 model

    does this help me out

    btw I use it for Logic, Reason, Pro tools 8

    We use it in our recording studio, it was a quick fix untill we can get the core 8
     
  5. nusynergy macrumors regular

    nusynergy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Kent - UK
    #6
    Yep The max ram you mac can use is 4GB. (Offically)
     
  6. nusynergy macrumors regular

    nusynergy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Kent - UK
  7. BeatFanatix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #8
    so the mac i got doesn't come with a 2g stick ? does it come with 2 1gb sticks or what

    And are you saying that i will notice a difference from 2gb to 3? bc my boy was saying he doesn't think it will work properly like that , he said i need to buy another 2gb stick to notice a difference
     
  8. nusynergy macrumors regular

    nusynergy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Kent - UK
    #9
    if it had 2GB in it would of been 2 x 1GB Sticks.

    Memory does run faster in pairs I.e 2 x 1GB Sticks or 2 x 2GB sticks but the speed difference is neglable.

    Un paired memory still works fine.

    If you can affored to buy 2 X 2gb Sticks then that is what id do. If not then the 3GB would be your best option.
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    Plenty of folks run 3GB with no problem. If you had memory issues before, the extra memory will more than compensate for the use of an "unmatched pair". In the future you could always upgrade the second 1GB stick with a 2GB one and have 4GB and a matched pair.
     

Share This Page