So I guess its official....8GB in newer MacBook Pro 15's

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by plesset, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. plesset macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #1
  2. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Me.

    I just got mine an hour ago. I was skeptical of the assumption (on this board and elsewhere) that just because 8 didn't work in the 2.53 and 2.8 models that it wouldn't work on the 2.66/2.93 models.

    So I decided to try it myself. But I just got the RAM today. Will post results later today...
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    So the entry 15-inch model is maxed out at 4GB (6GB unoffcially)?
     
  4. plesset thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #4
    Where did you get your RAM? OWC does not have the 8GB kit in stock right now.
     
  5. macfrik macrumors 6502

    macfrik

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    Isn't the one on the OWC is for the 17" Unibody MacBook Pro only?
     
  6. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #6
    thanks for taking the hit. i cant wait to see what you come up with. please post pictures too!! i like pictures haha:p

    do you have a 2.66 or 2.93?
     
  7. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #7
    Good. I always thought it was really messed up for Apple to charge hundreds of dollars for 0.13 GHz of cpu speed. Now that you can also fit 8 GB, it makes some sense.
     
  8. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    Yeah, so to answer the questions:

    I got the RAM from Crucial. This is installed in a 2.93Ghz 15" model.

    So far (after about an hour of use) I'm not seeing any of the problems people reported in trying to use 8GB on the 2.53 and 2.8 models.
     
  9. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    BTW, I would normally buy RAM from OWC, and I have for many, many years for many different Macs.

    But I was a little annoyed that were not listening to what I was asking when I asked specifically if they had tested 8GB in the new speed bumped 15s. They were insisting it wouldn't work, but never said if they had really tested it on the newest 2.66 and 2.93 models.

    It seems odd to me that Apple would bother making two versions of the 2.93 chipsets and/or firmware for the 17 versus the 15. I can understand the earlier 2.53 and 2.8 models not being 8GB ready. But I had a feeling it was worth a shot on the 2.93.

    This is tremendously helpful for me in my work to be able to carry about a laptop with 8GB. I'm loving it. :)
     
  10. macfrik macrumors 6502

    macfrik

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Utah
    #10
    How much you get for the 8GB memory from Crucial?
     
  11. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    A little over $1000 I think with tax/shipping. $1044 I think.

    Obviously OWC is much cheaper, but I was annoyed by them because they weren't listening to exactly what I was saying. :) Plus Crucial has this in stock.
     
  12. plesset thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    #12
    Apparently OWC does have the 8GB kit in stock now. I just ordered it and will have it tomorrow. Even though they told me it might not work I can't imagine that it is any different than the ram from crucial. I will post an xbench test tomorrow when I have the OWC ram.

    I have a feeling my 2.66 with Intel SSD plus 8GB ram will be faster than my 3.0 quad Mac Pro. Right now I am about 10 points behind the Mac Pro on the xbench scores. I wonder how much of a difference the extra ram will have. Damn...I should have bought the 2.9....if they had them in stock at the Apple Store I would have gone that way but the instant gratification bug caught me pretty bad with this purchase.
     
  13. volcom1151 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
  14. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    That's an interesting question. Apparently something got updated when Apple introduced the 2.66 and 2.93 models.

    I wonder if they also updated the 2.4?
     
  15. Alucardx03 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #15
  16. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #16
    But we know people (here on this board and elsewhere) specifically tried 8GB on the 2.53 and it did not work.

    That's why people were assuming it would not work on the 2.66/2.93.
     
  17. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #17
    thats great that it's working. any screen shots?
     
  18. steffi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #18
    As somebody who owns a 2.53 machine which was not the entry level Unibody when introduced I'm going to be pissed if 8 GIG doesn't work since there's no reason to screw over early adopters like this and if they are I believe they deserve to be punished.

     
  19. sbauer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #19
    Even as an entry level MBP 2.4 owner, I'm pissed. They might as well put "Home", "Professional" and "Enterprise" on the boxes.
     
  20. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #20
    and you guys should be if that's the case. but i dont think apple will do this. it would be an PR nightmare for them. i hope it works for you guys.
     
  21. sbauer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #21
    Thanks. We'll see what happens.
     
  22. steffi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    #22
    OWC only shows 8 GB for the 17 not 15" models.

    BTW: why does Apple's site only show the kit for everything other than the 2.53 machines?

    That's a bit out of order.

     
  23. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #23
    Sure, what would you like to see? Output from top maybe?

    I can't show my work in development or anything obviously. So I'm trying to think what would be useful to show.
     
  24. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #24
    Apple had committed to supporting 4GB on the 15" MBP when you bought the machine. So I don't understand how anyone was wronged here.

    Someday MB's will support 8GB, too. And 8GB will cost like $100 or something. That doesn't mean Apple wronged me. That's just technology.
     
  25. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #25
    open every application you have and open the activities monitor. haha that should bring the 8GB to its knees!!! im curious to see what its saying for virtual memory as well.
     

Share This Page