So I have to get a new Laptop (that runs XP Pro) -- any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jnyepu, Jun 26, 2008.

1. jnyepu macrumors member

I am a physician who has (finally) finished training and is starting in practice. My group's Network Administrator/IT go to guy contacted me about my computer needs for my own office. My needs will be largely document handling (we are migrating to Electronic Medical Records) and lots of data (labs, radiology reports, other test results), as well as dealing with a lot of literature searches. Ideally, I will have the ability to look at radiology films on my system (get access to hospital's server). I have the choice of a laptop, desktop or notebook, they will buy a printer and scanner and whatever else I need too. When I asked him what my options are, he replied:

"We purchase Dell computers unless another brand is specifically requested. We get, on average, a 10-15% discount on the Dells and have a standard support agreement with them."....."We buy Windows XP Professional as our operating system of choice. If you do decide to configure it yourself, please make sure that you opt for Windows XP Professional as opposed to Home."

I am leaning toward a laptop so I can finish records and charts at home, and even access stuff when I'm on call (and not have to configure two systems for office and home). I've decided to go for a laptop with a 2nd larger monitor and keyboard/mouse.

He included a link to the Dell site http://www.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/notebooks?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd

I guess its a foregone conclusion that I will be getting a Dell/PC/XP system. I suppose I could ask for a Mac but that might leave me out in the cold for a lot of support stuff, and frankly I can't afford to be left in the cold. Plus, when the migration to the EMR is fully underway, I don't want to have any snags because I'm running XP under VMware or something, however unlikely that might be.