So what's the deal with 13" rMBP not doing 16GB RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bniu, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #1
    15" has 16GB as an option, even the 13" cMBP is capable of 16GB after market, so what's the deal?
     
  2. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Geez another one?
     
  3. A Hebrew macrumors 6502a

    A Hebrew

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #3
    If you are using the 13 inch retina pro, the odds are you don't need it.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Is there an empty space on the logic board where another set of RAM chips would fit?
     
  5. 4kusnik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #5
    I suppose if 16GB RAM, more powerfull CPU and discrete GPU were as an extra-cost option then 15" sales would be decreased. It's just a marketing approach and nothing else. I'd buy one with pleasure if 16GB Quad Core i7 and any discrete GPU would be available with 13".
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    It would overheat all the time.
     
  7. 0x000000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #7
    I doubt there's space left for anything. This is Apple we're talking about, they're already pushing it as it it were.
     
  8. iau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #8
    It says the same about the old 13" but you still can put 16GB in it. Use 2x8GB instead, I'd guess.
     
  9. Beanlok macrumors regular

    Beanlok

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #9
    The ram in both retina models is non-user-replaceable.
     
  10. Saladinos macrumors 68000

    Saladinos

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #10
    Only if you use a cooling system not designed for that much heat in that much space.

    It would be thicker, but that's the point: either you choose hardware to fit the shell or a shell to fit the hardware.
     
  11. cang87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    #11
    Maybe Apple doesn't want us to spend non-sense money on it. :D:D
     
  12. cirus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #12
    2 x 8GB instead of 2 x 4GB, no extra space needed. Heat is not going to be a problem, going from 2 x 4 GB to 2 x 8 GB might require .5 to 1 watt more power which is nothing.

    The reason apple only has 8 GB is built-in obsolescence. Just as they always skimp on Vram.
     
  13. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #13
    Correct. Same reason the MBA is so RAM constricted, and has no user-serviceable storage, either.

    Apple wants you to buy a laptop and then replace it a couple years later with a new one. Can't have an owner adding third party RAM or storage to make it last a couple more years - cuts into Apple sales.
     
  14. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    The RAM is soldered directly onto the logic board. There are 8 memory IC, each are 1GB capacity. If you go over to ifixit, you'll see that there isn't space for a second set of 8 chips. As for using higher capacity chips, that probably is an option but they're either cost prohibitive or don't exist yet in the low power format that Apple has moved to.
     

Share This Page