So, who has tried their 5870 in a 2008 or 2006 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ventro, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. ventro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #1
    So, to the very few of you who have access to both a 2010 and a 2008/2006 Mac Pro, does the 5870 work on the earlier model Mac Pros?

    Those of us with earlier models are dying to know :)
     
  2. GroundLoop macrumors 68000

    GroundLoop

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    #2
    I have been looking for these answers as well. But, I have yet to see someone be kind enough to dump their 5870 ROM for netkas/cindori ( and hopefully a remote rominator) do their thing.

    GL
     
  3. svale macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #3
  4. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #4
    Huh... They seem to have given up after a couple of unsuccessful tries, because the iMac's EFI works already.
    Except it doesn't in 2006 Mac Pros. They must persevere! :(

    EDIT: The Rominator is onto it!

    I'm curious, is the 5870's ROM from Apple 128KB or 256KB?
     
  5. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #5
    Which isn't the same thing as fitting a 5870 from Apple into a 2006 Mac Pro. Many things can go wrong during a card flash, and the PC cards may slightly differ from Apple's. But since the ROM appears to be EBC, the card SHOULD work on older Mac Pros.

    (crossing fingers)
     
  6. GroundLoop macrumors 68000

    GroundLoop

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    #6
    I know that but we need to attack this thing from all angles. So has anyone tried to install their 2010 Mac pro 5870 card into a 2008 or 2006 MP yet? I would like to know if I can just purchase this card directly from apple and avoid all of the flashing and associated maintenance.

    GL
     
  7. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I don't think anyone's tried it yet but since the card is EBC, it should work fine. By the time the upgrade cards can actually be delivered, it'll probably be known for sure though.
     
  8. GroundLoop macrumors 68000

    GroundLoop

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    #8
    I prefer the word "does" over "should". ;)

    Even better if we can can see it in screenshots of the about this Mac screens.

    GL
     
  9. warpmoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #9
    I agree 100% with that. I'm still waiting to see someone confirm that it does in fact work like suspected.
     
  10. domukun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #10

    Attached Files:

  11. Gloor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #11
    Very nice but I think we are more interested in whether or not the apple card works in 2008 or 2006.
    Flashing is done with so many cards that we know its possible. Good result anyway but lets just get someone who will take 5870 from 2010 and sticks it into 2008


     
  12. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #12
    Yes flashed cards use the iMac's EFI, which differs from the EBC in Mac Pro cards. So we can't extrapolate. But if anything, the EBC should make things easier.
     
  13. warpmoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #13
    Great that it works for you. :)

    Could you please post the exact model number of your card? The link you provided doesn't specify sadly, and they have at least 2 different cards that fit the stats.


    Still, an Apple card moved to a 2006 or 2008 Mac Pro is what we are looking for here. Anyone able to give a helping hand?
     
  14. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    apple 5870 firmware is ebc will work in any mac pro released /thread
     
  15. spiritlevel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #15

    domukun - that's great - do you know if it works with 3 monitors? ( 2 x DVI, 1 x MDP)

    thanks
     
  16. warpmoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #16
    Yes thank you, I saw that on netkas' site.

    It looks promising.

    I am hoping someone will actually put a card in an 2006/8 machine and prove it though.


    There's no reason it shouldn't work, but before I spend $450 on a new card I want to be 110% sure Apple didn't pull something weird.
     
  17. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #17
    Yes, if possible could you test the full capabilities of your flashed card? Passes audio over MDP, etc.?
     
  18. lloyd709 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #18
    Anybody got any news

    This thread has gone stone quite - trying to keep it alive!! Really want to know as soon as possible whether the new cards will work - in my case in an 1,1 Mac Pro!
     
  19. Weepul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #19
    Agreed.
     
  20. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
  21. AnimeFunTv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #21
    Ditto, I would also love to have a 5870 in my 1,1 MacPro as well if my 4890 cant accept the new graphic update.
     
  22. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #23
    Per BareFeats:

    http://www.barefeats.com/wst10g.html

    (in the "More To Come" section towards the bottom)

    So it's most likely true that the 5870 and 5770 run in some (if not all) older Mac Pro's! :D
     
  23. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #24
    The only way it would not work is if is if the main logicboard was modified or the pcie bus was already maxed.
     
  24. cured.not.dried macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

Share This Page