(SOLVED) Is it possible to temporarily lock out one of my Macs from my AirPort?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Prof., Dec 19, 2009.

  1. Prof. macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Is it possible to temporarily lock out one of the Macs in my house from my network. I know you can turn it off via the Admin Computer (mine), but that also affects my MacBook. I just need to block access from one Mac, not all of them.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    I'm slightly confused...

    You could turn the Wifi off on that Mac. I don't follow why that would kick your other Mac off the network, unless it's connected via network connection sharing, in which case I don't see how you can knock a computer off the network but still use it to share a connection.

    Alternatively, you can turn MAC filtering on, if it isn't already, and just delete that computer from the access list.
     
  3. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    I want to temporarily turn off Wi-Fi access to my brothers MacBook. He is in the teenage phase of his life where he doesn't listen to anyone and spends his entire day online. He's getting horrible grades in school cuz he doesn't study/do his homework (he's incredibly smart, but doesn't apply himself). If my mother tells him to do a few chores around the house, he refuses to do them. Therefore, I want to be able to have the ability to turn off/on the Wi-Fi on his MacBook.

    How do I turn on MAC filtering?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    AirPort pane, Access tab. You can even set up timed access so that the connection is available for specified hours (otherwise choose Timed Access anyway, and set it to every day, all day).
     
  5. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Open up the airport utility and select your AEBS first.

    That's the way to go, now that you've described the concern in more detail.

    Also, "phase." Faze is a verb that means something different. ;)
     
  7. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    That's the word I was looking for! Thanks! lol.
     
  8. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    Okay, I found this pane
    [​IMG]

    I want my MacBook to have unlimited access, but limit the time/have the ability to lock out my bros Mac at any time. Now what? :confused:
     
  9. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #9
    Hit the '+' icon, this will give you a window for you to enter the MAC address of your brother's machine and what access to give it.
     
  10. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    Last question, I promise. Where do I find the MAC address.

    Never mind! I found it. Thanks for all your help, guys. Much appreciated. :)
     

Share This Page