Someone's buying my RAM and is wondering if it's compatible with their laptop - Help?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by cleanup, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. cleanup macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hey guys! So here's the story. When I got my MacBook I immediately upgraded the RAM to 2 GB of Kingston RAM myself. I pulled the MacBook's RAM out and saved it for a rainy day, but now I realize that I really don't need it, so I put it up on Craigslist for $10 for anybody who wants it to upgrade an old laptop or whatever other reason.

    This guy has an Inspiron 8200, which is admittedly a very old computer (I used to own one myself) and he was wondering if the RAM's compatible with his Dell. ... Well, so am I!

    He helpfully emailed me a photo of his current RAM, which I've attached. From what I can tell, it's DDR1 PC2100 200-pin. The Hynix-branded RAM I'm selling is PC2-5300 200-pin, but for all intents and purposes it looks the exact same.

    Is it compatible? For reference, the MacBook is one of last year's revisions, the 2.16 with the GMA950.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. benmrii macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    95% sure that won't work. Your MacBook takes DDR2 PC2-5300 RAM while the Dell takes DDR PC2700. They look the same, but I don't think they are compatible. It might fit, but it will at best not work 100% and at worst could damage his MB.
     
  3. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #3
    I would agree. Mac based Ram isn't the same, at least according to the Apple repair people
     
  4. benmrii macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #4
    Hey, iMac-Knight, grats on avatar. :D
     
  5. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #5
    The RAM specifications between a Mac and a PC using the same chipset are exactly the same.

    However, his Dell uses completely different memory; there's no way yours will work in his machine. Also, keep your own RAM in case you have to send your machine in for repair.
     
  6. MacCheetah3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    #6
    Hi
    While the question has been answered: It won't work, I wanted to make something else clear. DDR, DDR2, and DDR3 are incompatible technologies. They mainly use different voltages but also different pin configurations. Because using two of these incompatible variants together can damage equipment, standards have made the guide slots just enough different that you will not be able to install it ( won't align ). It looks close but not enough for even 'wiggle room' to get it to install.
     
  7. cleanup thread starter macrumors 68030

    cleanup

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  8. benmrii macrumors 65816

    benmrii

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    Thank you, MacCheetah3, I didn't remember that and it's a great point.

    Fo sho. Anything to keep the bug going. :)
     

Share This Page