Something new again

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pjr772, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. Pjr772 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #1
    Not sure why I keep getting new things in settings but this showed up yesterday and hasn't gone away like the carrier setting did. Never used my phone as a hotspot. Have three other iPhones in my house and they don't have it. Anyone else have this?

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1342530389.816551.jpg
     
  2. Wrathwitch macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #2
    Welcome to updating your OS. This became available with iOS5. (if I am not mistaken). Everyone who updated their OS has it.
     
  3. chokem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Searcy, AR
  4. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #4
    Verizon 4S on 5.1.1 and I don't have that. Nor do I have the carrier option some people get on occasion.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

    ericrwalker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #5
    AT&T 4S with 5.1.1 and I don't have it.

    My wifes has an iPhone 4 with 5.1.1 and she has it.


    EDIT: If I go under "NETWORK" there is a "Set Up Personal Hotspot" button. Not sure if I go through with it, if it will add the hotspot option.
     
  6. solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #6
    I have it as well, but I thought it was because of my Jailbreak.
     
  7. Pjr772 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #7
    I have 5.1.1 as do the other three iPhones I have 2 are 4's and 2 are 4s's. I am the only one who has this. The only thing I can think of is I am on Verizon and recently switched to the family share plan which if I read the contract correctly allows me to use my phone as a hotspot for no additional cost as long as I stay within my allotted monthly gb allowance. Just a thought but it still doesn't explain why I am the only one on my plan who has it.
     
  8. Pjr772 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #8
    I update my phones the moment the updates become available. Pretty sure I would have seen it before. I am constantly messing with settings and what not
     
  9. Leonard1818 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #9
    sounds like that's your answer.

    if you've updated your plan to the new "share everything" plan, you get wifi hotspot tethering (whatever you want to call it) as part of your plan. How many GB did you buy to share amongst your 4 phones? Assuming you got a subsidized price on your phone purchase also?
     
  10. Pjr772 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #10
    Thank you, must be from the plan update. I went with the 8gb a month to start, can always add if I se the need. Based on what our usage has been in the past it should be more than enough. My wife and kids are on wifi most of the time and I'm only on it at night when I'm home so we should be good.

    I already had all four phones on the plan so I just changed the plans. Phones were subsidized from the original plan. For all the negative I was hearing about the share everything plan it is actually saving me about 20% so I have no complaints. Everything except data is still unlimited and as long as I don't go over its all good
     
  11. aztooh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #11
    How does your foot taste?
    __________________________________________________

    OP, maybe only your phone has it because it's the main line on the account? I'd call and check on that, because what if you're not home and someone wants to tether a device?
     
  12. Pjr772 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #12
    Thanks. I'll do that. Sure would make the iPads a little more useful away from home
     
  13. randy98mtu macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #13
    I'm still laughing...
     
  14. mlmwalt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, Pa, USA
    #14
    Well played!!! :D
     
  15. chambone macrumors 6502a

    chambone

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #15
    This isn't new. My unlocked 3gs on 4.3.3 has it.

    photo.PNG
     
  16. Wrathwitch macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #16
    Not quite sure what that means, but I have had that option available ever since I upgraded to iOS5. As I said in my post "unless I am mistaken" this generally allows for some room for error. I haven't switched it to a main line, a family share or any such things.
     
  17. sviato macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A
    #17
    I've had that option for as long as I can remember, along with the "Carrier" option.
     
  18. aztooh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #18
    Never heard the old saying "i put my foot in my mouth"? All in good fun, no harm meant.

    As others have mentioned, and from my own experience, having that hotspot option isn't there for everyone...so it's not there simply by having iOS 5.
     

Share This Page