Sony Bravia 32"....can I use it as a Monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Joeytpg, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. Joeytpg macrumors 6502

    Joeytpg

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #1
    hi guys, just got this TV as present and I was wondering if could hook up my Macbook to it and use it as a Monitor?

    what would I need to get this working? HD cable? what?
     
  2. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #2
    Yup! You need to get a Mini-DVI cable to DVI then a DVI-D cable to HDMI. Mini-DVI is the port that the MacBook uses. If you want clarity get the HDMI cable, cause there are other ways of doing this, but i just recently did the same to my HDTV. ITS BRILLIANT!

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=493204

    This was my question, you can get everything that you need to hook it up for under $21 too!

    If you need more help just ask
     
  3. Joeytpg thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joeytpg

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #3
    nice man!...thanks a lot.

    How's the image quality? regular-computer-display's quality?

    Do you have any screenshot of pictures??? :)
     
  4. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #4
    I have to say its pretty damn nice, much better than using normal RCA cables. I have been watching many movies i have downloaded and its awesome. I'll see if i can get any screenshots up for you.
     
  5. Joeytpg thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joeytpg

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #5
    thank you man, I'll be waiting.

    Do you use the tv only to watch tv or as a display for normal computer tasks?
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Is this Bravia a 720p still, or did they change the 32" to a 1080p screen? Either way, remember, a 720p screen has a native resolution of 1366x768 and a 1080p has ... 1920x1080 I think when used with a computer. The pixel density (PPI or DPI) is much, much lower than any computer display is -- for reference, the smaller 30" LCD displays such as the ACD 30" are 2560x1600 -- that's twice as many pixels as a 1080p screen and and almost four times as many as a 720p screen....

    If you look up close it, computer graphics will be grainy on it. If you're sitting on the couch, though, they look amazing.
     
  7. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #7
    Here they are. May i NOTE that DVI doesn't carry over audio, so you will have to supply your own means of audio, by connecting it to speakers or by a stereo, but if you don't need sound you can just use your MacBooks audio.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #8
    My roommate in college had this set up on a 32" toshiba.
    It was a kind of all-in-one for a Mac Mini, PS3 and TV watching.
    1080 is great for the computer resolution, but for TV/games, from what I read, you can't tell the difference between 720 and 1080 until you hit 42".
    But you can't always trust what you read.... Either way, enjoy, I think you're gonna dig it.
     
  9. cipsit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #9
    wirelessly

    Guys
    Can you do this wirelessly with Imac and new Bravia internet Tvs??
     

Share This Page