iPhone Sorry in advance, but should I upgrade my 4S from 5.0.1 now?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by docgerrard, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. docgerrard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #1
    I kept my jailbreak bc I'd rather have had a jailbroken ios5 then unjailbroken ios6.

    Is now the time to update? Thanks!

    I tried searching the forum, and couldn't find any straight answers and didn't want to spend hours searching through those gigantic threads. Thanks for your help :)
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    planetbeing ‏@planetbeing
    You can upgrade if you want (I recommend iTunes backup and full restore) but there's no reason to until jailbreak's actually out.
     
  3. Darrent54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    #3
    Personally I would. As the jb already said its gonna work on ios 6.1 I updated my ios 6.0.1 to 6.1 this morning. What you could do is download it but not use the file right away as I think the apple server will madness over the weekend
     
  4. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

    nepalisherpa

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Dev team has already okayed the update to 6.1. It is up to you. While the jailbreak could be released any day, it has not been released yet. If you can leave without your jailbreak apps then go for it.
     
  5. jinx1000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #5
    I wonder with the way they stopped signing 6.0.x so quickly if they are testing a method to patch 6.1 quickly and then almost instantly stop signing it.

    I think I would upgrade mine if I was going to be away from the computer for an extended period of time.
     
  6. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #6
    Yup, which I've been warning people about. So they better be ready to upgrade to 6.1 the day the jailbreak drops right away
     
  7. Sedrick macrumors 68030

    Sedrick

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #7
    Shame you didn't get on 5.1.1 and JB that. Then the question becomes: is there a real need to update the 4S to iOS6. For me, no. All my phones are staying on JB 5.1.1.

    If you do feel a need for iOS6.1, then do it now.
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    until you find out that most of your app updates require 6.x than you will stuck without a JB...
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    IMO more and more apps will require iOS 6.0 or higher in order to be installed.
    So if there is a 6.1 JB might as well be on the highest JB firmware version.
     
  10. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #10
    To add to AppleJuiced, it's not like iOS 6 is worse than iOS 5. iOS 6.1 runs perfectly fine on my end.

    It's just that before a jailbreak for iOS 6 came along, iOS 5 Jailbroken >>> iOS 6 stock.

    You're better off being on the latest iOS that can be jailbroken to take advantage of the latest App Store Apps and Cydia tweaks.
     
  11. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #11
    The one thing to consider is that until and unless the Dev-Team is able to update Redsn0w to allow sidegrades to 6.1 with stored SHSH BLObs, those of us with 5.x will be in a much more secure jailbreak position than those on 6.1. Currently we can always restore our phones to the 5.x we're on and re-jailbreak. Once Apple releases 6.1.1, those of you on 6.1 will lose your jailbreak if you have to restore.
     
  12. ACardAttack macrumors 6502

    ACardAttack

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #12
    Couldnt I still downgrade to 5.1.1 even if I was on 6.1 if I have my blobs?
     
  13. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #13
    Only on the 3GS, A4 devices and iPad2 with blobs for 4.3.3
    All new devices are unable to downgrade from 6.x (for the moment)
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    I think the same way you can re restore your 4S with blobs on jb 5.1.1 also those of us on 6.1 will be able to do the same with the rest of the devices supported on the new jb. Offcourse they will update redsnow for that. That's the reason they're telling us all to restore with iTunes not OTA in order to use those blobs. Cause the way I see it jailbreaks don't come easy nowadays. We might have to wait many months for the next one when these holes on 6.1 are patched.
    But like you said if you're now jb there's no point to go to stock 6.1
    Wait till the jb is out and then update and jb.
    Those on stock 6.0 and 6.0.1 mind as well go now, it's not like it would make any difference.
    Either way if I had a jb device and an opportunity to update and jb on a new major iOS version I would. I would not stick with 5.0.1 or 5.1.1 but that's also personal choice.
    Good to see you around again:)
     
  15. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #15
    We have not heard anything about that, and right now it doesn't work for 6.0.x. I'm sure Apple has fixed the holes that allowed it in 5.x, so it would likely require a completely new exploit...if one is even available. I am less confident in their ability to continue bypassing the signature check than I am in future jailbreaks. But I will mention it to MuscleNerd on Twitter and see if he'll respond.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    I hear you, its all still uncertain but lets hope they have something up their sleeves.
    Either way I have an iphone 5 so its not like I have any other options at all:D
     
  17. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #17
    Soooo..... I just don't update... It just works
     
  18. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    Until you install some tweak that ****s up your phone and leaves you stuck in a boot loop. Things go wrong sometimes, and you can't always fix them short of a restore. And once 6.1.1 comes out there will be no restoring to 6.1. But this is kind of pointless for your iPhone 5, at least for now.
     
  19. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #19
    So I stich my shsh blobs from 6.1 or 6.0.2 or 6.0.1 and restore...
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    No, you don't. Because it doesn't work that way any more. Having saves SHSH is no longer enough, especially on an A6 device like yours. Where have you been?
     
  21. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #21
    Well even so, I'm just installing tether me, auxo, winterboard, some themes, ncsettings, a wood dock, five icon dock, dashboard x and live clock widget... Maybe springtomize. It won't get into a reboot loop cause of this...
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    You never know what can cause something to go wrong or maybe conflict between installed packages etc...
    I always try to keep it simple and install just 5-10 packages that I need and use and not every single cool or new thing out there.
    That worries me a lot cause lets say you do get stuck and the new 6.1.1 is out and you cant restore to 6.1 back to square one and waiting for a long time for another JB.
    What makes me feel a little better is the new mobile substrate safe mode.

    As of version 0.9.3997, you can now disable Substrate entirely by holding down Volume Up as the device boots.

    This feature allows you to bypass broken extensions (ones that prevent the device from starting up at all) that you may have installed so you can open Cydia and uninstall them.

    To support devices that do not have a Volume Up button (the first-generation iPod touch), you can alternatively hold down the “Clicker” (not Volume Up) button on your earphones.
     
  23. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #23
    ya. I just want my phone to be a bit more useful and refine it to how I like it. And am not going to install all kinds of rubbish I do t need. I'm actually even debating soringtomize and winterboard. But anyways. I mainly want tethering, and use my iPod 4g as a test dumby for tweaks
     

Share This Page