Space bar twice for a . (period)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NYR99, Jul 3, 2009.

  1. NYR99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #1
    I'm so used to the iPhone automatically adding a period after sentences (with a double tap of the space bar) that I find my self forgetting to put a period at the end of sentences typed on a :apple: or PC. They should have a program that could accomplish this task...

    Sorry for the useless thread. ;)
     
  2. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
  3. Pooshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
  4. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #4
    you can set work for mac to do that, but who uses word, even if it is a better word processor!
    Everyone know pages pwns
     
  5. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #5
    Do you pick your computer up and shake it to undo something? :p
     
  6. lavinci macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #6
    Try telling a college professor that pages pwns when he specifically asked for a Word document to be emailed to him, haha.
     
  7. Que macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    not creating this thread would have been better than an apology.
     
  8. Andrew K. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #8
    Wow posters from Scotland, the UK and America? The WORLD is trying to tell you something. :D jk
     
  9. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
  10. samiwas macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    Too bad that pesky "Export..." menu item is so hard to use. Export > Word. Oh look, I have a Word document I can email. That was difficult.

    Edit: haha
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    That's assuming that Pages can export the document to Word ... correctly.

    Or better yet, open the Word document from the professor, edit in Pages, then export to Word. If the document is complex, you're toast.

    No worries. Useful tip for those new to the iPhone/touch platform.
     
  12. imbtyler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #12
    -ahem-

    I was trying to figure out how to do this same thing on my computer, and instead of asking a question, and thus being persecuted for some reason, I (luckily enough) managed to find a way to double-tap spacebar as a "keystroke" for a period.

    Got to System Preferences>Personal>Language&Text and add a new "rule" where " " (double-space) is replaced with ". " (period-space). Make sure it's check-marked, and there you go.

    You're welcome.

    --btyler
     
  13. makefunnyfaces macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Export doesn't always work, considering it sometimes won't set up the same way in Word. It's a pain in the ass. :(
     
  14. NYR99 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #14
    I love when people dig up my old threads from the past. lol
     
  15. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #15
    I really don't know how or why people do this. Do they go searching for ok'd threads or something because that's the only way to find a 13 month old thread.
     
  16. SilentLoner macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #16
    Lighten up will you. It's just a bit of fun :)
     
  17. molala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #17
    Oh wow! I didn't even know about the double space bar on my iPhone. Really cool. :D
     
  18. mad-dog-one macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #18
    You could always try reprogramming you. I don't want my computer putting in a period automatically.
     
  19. alfiesred47 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #19
    It's a shame someone in two years hasn't actually thanked you posting a response instead of just slating the thread.

    Thanks man!
     
  20. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #20
    If it makes you feel better I occasionally sit down at my pc and click on the center of the screen up scroll up to scroll down the page as if it was a touch screen device.

    However I'm not in denial about my mental handicap. :)

    Edit : just noticed the op date
     
  21. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #21
    Bad enough that the phone forces periods when I don't want them, it would drive me mad on my computer.
     
  22. Certinfy macrumors 6502a

    Certinfy

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Since when is Scotland not part of the UK? :confused:
     
  23. cyks macrumors 68020

    cyks

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #23
    You can turn that feature off if you don't want it under Settings-> General-> Keyboard-> "." Shortcut

    Personally, I wish there was something similar for question marks and commas. It's a pain to have to change screens just for those... especially when they're on the main screen on my previous phones.


    On a side note, yay for 3 year old threads coming back to life!
     
  24. appleofmy"i" macrumors regular

    appleofmy"i"

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #24
    Well actually I had to use my brothers Dell desktop today to print something and I made the mistake of clicking on Word, which then locked up the computer, and I was very tempted to shake it to undo
     
  25. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #25
    It happened again :eek:
     

Share This Page