iPhone Sprint iPhone 4S Gevey Ultra S Unlock for T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by anthony.castro, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. anthony.castro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #1
    I have a Sprint iPhone 4S which has iOS 6.1.3 with baseband 3.4.03. I have a Gevey Ultra S Unlock SIM. I have unlocked this phone before when it was jailbroken on iOS 6.1.2 with the Gevey. But I was forced to restore. Now I can unlock it but here is the thing, it takes a long time for the carrier's name to appear on the top left. It usually appears after a long time after a "Waiting for Activation" message appears. But the activation fails and goes to the T-Mobile network. Ok, everything is great. Here is the catch, I can't get the data to work. I tried to edit the APN settings but the "Cellular data network" menu is not even present under "General-->Cellular or Network.". I even tried unlockit.co.nz. That don't work. I can't downgrade because the iPhone 4S can not downgrade firmware. Can someone give me a Idea to make the data work and make the "Waiting for Activation" message not appear anymore I reboot the iPhone?

    Thanks in Advanced.
    -Anthony C.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    All the problems you have a very typical of sim interposers on CDMA phones.

    Unlocking a Sprint phone to use on a US GSM network is a poor solution.
    I recommend getting rid of your CDMA phone and buying a GSM phone which can be unlocked via IMEI for less than $5 (such as an AT&T phone)
     
  3. anthony.castro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #3
    But is there a way though? I really can't afford a new phone at the moment. Not even the a used one. But is there a way I can unlock it again without jailbreaking? I can't even jailbreak due to it being on iOS 6.1.3.
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    As long as you use a sim interposer, you may have those issues.

    As far as I know, there is no other way to unlock your phone to use T-Mobile.
     
  5. anthony.castro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #5
    Any Idea on how to get the data to work? When I dial 611, It calls T-Mobile. So, I mean, I guess theres hope.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Sorry, I have never owned a CDMA phone and I detest sim interposers.

    In these days of cheap IMEI unlocks, sim interposers have been widely discarded by most.

    If it were me, I would seek support from the manufacturer or reseller of the sim interposer you have.
     
  7. anthony.castro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #7
    I think I'll try to buy another SIM interposer. Thanks for advice though.
     

Share This Page