OS X Star Wars Empire at War - Picture-in-picture GFX Glitch

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by swwack91, May 11, 2014.

  1. swwack91 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Hi all,

    I've been playing Empire at War on my retina MBP for a while now and a new glitch just showed up this morning. A picture-in-picture, darkened version of the screen shows up in the corner for tactical battles. Doesn't show up when on the galaxy map.

    Any ideas? Anyone else have the same experience?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #2
    I have exactly the same issue!

    Support told me they could not re-produce the issue on their system and that they were aware this happens on Intel HD cards (which I keep disabled).

    So yeah...:(
     
  3. swwack91 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    It's particularly frustrating because it was working fine for weeks and now just started happening.
     
  4. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #4
    Same here.:(
     
  5. Aspyr-Blair macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Location:
    Austin Tx
    #5
    We are looking into this here but as support stated, we havent seen anything like this until now (strange as its out of nowhere on an established product). I was actually on the original test team for EaW back in '06 and I've never seen anything like it either.

    We will keep digging. Apologies to you all for the inconvenience :(
     
  6. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #6
    Thanks Blair. I know you tried hard the last time.:)

    Sorry I can't give you any pointers, as it just happened without an apparent change to my system.

    But yeah, it only happens in the space battles, not anywhere else (which I didn't know the last time and replied to the support that the issue is gone:D).
     
  7. AspyrRyan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Are you on an Nvidia?

    What happens if you turn off Anti-aliasing?
     
  8. SingularityG macrumors 6502

    SingularityG

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #8
    The box is gone!

    Strange because I had AA off in the first place, but moving the slider to 2x makes the box disappear.

    I have to test it further, because I remember to have tried this before, but with no lasting effect.

    Sorry, it happened some time ago and I can't recall specifics.:)
     

Share This Page