Resolved Straight talk & the iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KeegM480, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. KeegM480, Oct 12, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2013

    KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    Ok so I have an iPhone 5 data works, calling, and SMS works but I cannot send mms.

    Anybody know how to get that working? I would love to finally be able to send and receive mms.

    Thanks :)

    And here is what the Profile looks like.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #2
    doesn't ST have their own APN file now for iphones?
     
  3. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #3
    I dont know Ill have to check.
     
  4. H2K03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #4
    The APN profile from unlockit doesn't work with mms. The only way is to do the sim swap trick:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEZiVvf2Jh4
     
  5. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #5
    Ok cool I didnt know where I could get a Tmobile sim without paying $30+ or needing activation to buy the sim. I will have to try this tomorrow.
     
  6. Beezy253 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #6
    You missed the $2 sim sale from T-Mobiles website, but you can pick a sim up on eBay or Amazon for under $5. Just make sure it's cut to Nano Size (or an actual Nano Sim), if you don't have a sim cutter.
     
  7. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #7
    Crap. Haha only a couple bucks though so no big deal.
     
  8. H2K03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #8
    Some cell shops will cut them for you. There are also templates online to cut them yourself with a razor blade.
     
  9. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #9
    Yea, I cut the sim card thats in my iPhone 5, have it taped onto the sim tray because I cut it a tad too small haha.
     
  10. H2K03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #10
    Better than cutting it too big, jamming it in there and getting it stuck like I did on my 4S lol. I had to take my phone apart to get that crap out.
     
  11. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #11
    If you have the new LTE card, you need to do the T-Mobile SIM swap and use the following settings:

    First, remove the APN profile that you installed.

    APN: tfdata (goes in 2 places)
    MMSC Address: http://mms-tf.net
    Proxy: mms3.tracfone.com


    If you have the old card, you need to do the T-Mobile SIM swap and use these settings:

    APN: att.mvno (goes in 2 places)
    MMSC Address: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    Proxy: 66.209.11.33

    Hope that helps...


    I believe you can get a T-Mobile SIM card at Best Buy for around $15. It will need to be cut down to Nano Size, you can buy the tool here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009P16FKY/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i02?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
  12. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #12
    Yep. Thanks :) I will try to do this today
     
  13. brendu macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Hey guys. I'm planning on picking up 2 straight talk sims for my wife and my iPhone's (they are both the iPhone 5) and we are still under att contract. I plan on getting the ST sims, activating them online and porting out numbers over. I believe this will work and att will just bill me the ETF.

    If I understand correctly we will be able to send/recieve MMS using these new ST sims. Also visual voicemail won't natively work but there are apps like YouMail that will fill that void. I should be able to get LTE no problem since I live in an area with great ATT LTE. Am I missing anything or should that all work as I imagine?
     
  14. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #14
    It will work but as stated above you will need to to a sim swap. I guess without Jailbreaking thats the only way to get Data & MMS
     
  15. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #15
    You are correct. :) Except that you need to do the T-Mobile SIM swap for MMS to work...


    Yep!
     
  16. brendu macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Don't I need my phone to be unlocked to do a sim swap with tmobile?
     
  17. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #17
    Not on an iPhone 5... :)
     
  18. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #18
    Nope :)

    Not an iPhone 4, 4S, 5, or Samsung Galaxy S3/S4. you dont need to unlock an at&t phone to use At&t towers :)
     
  19. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #19
    You do need to unlock the 4 & 4s because it has to be able to recognize the ST branded SIM card... I've owned all 3 models, the only 1 I didn't have to unlock was the 5.
     
  20. KeegM480 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #20
    I have owned them too and they were not unlocked in fact I just recently sold my 4S. Not sure why yours didn't work.
     
  21. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #21
    Hmmmmm

    [​IMG]
     
  22. H2K03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #22
    It'll work without unlock as long as it's an AT&T iPhone with an AT&T Straight Talk SIM. Also, same applies to T-Mobile. T-Mobile iPhone works without unlocking on T-Mobile Straight Talk SIM.
     
  23. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #23
    That's what I was using... AT&T phones with AT&T SIM cards from ST... Oh well, beats me...
     
  24. H2K03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #24
    Did you go to unlockit.co.nz to download a profile for Straight Talk? This will allow data to work but not MMS. Or the SIM swap trick would work in order to change the APN settings manually.
     
  25. scotrinaf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    #25
    Yep...

    FYI, You can also use the iapnupdatetfdata.straighttalk.com if you don't care about MMS... But if you have either profile installed, they need to be removed prior to doing the SIM swap.
     

Share This Page