Strange file in download locations, appeared and disappeared--should I be concerned?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ki yo te x, Mar 21, 2012.

1. ki yo te x macrumors newbie

Hi. I'm pretty new posting here, but longtime reader of the boards. I've been using OS X for seven years, but had something happen today I've never seen before.

I was saving an article from forbes' website as a pdf, and when I went to click "save" i noticed that the location i was saving the file to, instead of the usual "documents," "desktop," or "downloads," was something called "n9bz7n0o.default", which I have never seen or heard of. I changed the destination to desktop instead, and saved the article. A few minutes later, I went back to try to find the "n9bz..." location to figure out what it was, but I couldn't. A spotlight search reveals nothing by that name on my computer. Should I be concerned about a trojan or malware or something?

I've got my firewall and little snitch running, and never have used pirated software. Usually only download software from macupdate or appstore.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Not unless you installed something. You don't need any 3rd party antivirus app to keep your Mac malware-free. Macs are not immune to malware, but no true viruses exist in the wild that can run on Mac OS X, and there never have been any since it was released over 10 years ago. You cannot infect your Mac simply by visiting a website, unzipping a file, opening an email attachment or joining a network. The only malware in the wild that can affect Mac OS X is a handful of trojans, which cannot infect your Mac unless you actively install them, and they can be easily avoided with some basic education, common sense and care in what software you install. Also, Mac OS X Snow Leopard and Lion have anti-malware protection built in, further reducing the need for 3rd party antivirus apps.