Strange how the ipad won't charge on a C2D white 24" imac (last model), yet...

Discussion in 'iPad' started by applesupergeek, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. applesupergeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #1
    It appears on the system profiler as having the appropriate mA to charge:


    iPad:

    Product ID: 0x129a
    Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Inc.)
    Version: 0.01
    Serial Number:
    (DELETED BY MYSELF)
    Speed: Up to 480 Mb/sec
    Manufacturer: Apple Inc.
    Location ID: 0xfd500000
    Current Available (mA): 500
    Current Required (mA): 500
     
  2. aneftp macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #2
    Are u plugging it directly into back of iMac? Or into the side USB keyboard?
     
  3. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #3
    Not all USB ports are necessarily the same. I remember on the old MacBookPros, one port was fully powered, another wasn't - so some USB devices that drew more power would only work in one of the USB ports.

    My iPad wont charge at all from my powered USB hub that is connected to my MacPro, but charges fine from the ports directly on the machine, or from the ports on my MacBook Pro.

    *shrug*
     
  4. applesupergeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #4
    I am plugging it on the back of course, I 've even taken out all other usb plugged devices. The curious thing is how profiler says :Current Available (mA): 500
    Current Required (mA): 500 . So it shows the current as available yet doesn't charge...:confused:
     
  5. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
  6. applesupergeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
  7. mgipe macrumors demi-god

    mgipe

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    Not enough

    The standard charger provided with the iPad supplies 2000 mA. The 500 mA from your iMac is probably just enough to keep your iPad running without too much drawn from the battery, but with nothing left to actually add to the battery.
     
  8. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    If you put the iPad in sleep mode and don't have iTunes active it should charge.
     
  9. applesupergeek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #9
    thanks guys (or gals), I was thinking the same, the problem is (still) why the profiler says required 500 mA, it might mean on second thought though that this is the basic requirement.
     

Share This Page