Strange task taking up a lot of RAM in Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by michial, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. michial macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #1
    Curious what the highlighted task is photo stream conversion for 400+mb in addition to iPhoto?

    Also curious why 16gb of ram has less than 2gb free?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nopw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    About you memory:
    Inactive means that this memory was recently used but is not cleared.
    It is left inside your memory incase you reopen the application again.
    See it as some kind of cache.
    You can force a clean up with Terminal > 'purge' command.
    So everything is ok with that... In general, this is a reason why your mac is so fast ;).

    About the additional task: iPhoto seems to make some conversion.
    You can klick on the process and see for further information.
     
  3. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #3
    Thanks. iTunes taking almost 2gb is crazy. Anyhow, good to know about the terminal. I was restarting the computer to do it every few days. Is it even necessary to purge it? What is preferable?
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    No. OSX will allow stuff in the inactive memory to be overwritten if another program needs it. If you look at your Page outs, you'll see that they're still zero. This means that even though you have less than 2GB free, the OS always frees up more memory when it is necessary.
     
  5. michial thread starter macrumors 6502

    michial

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #5
    Thanks. What about page ins and swap and should I be concerned over those readings?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Page ins can be ignored and the swap size can be ignored too in your case, since it insignificant and Mac OS X always has a small swap file at minimum.

     

Share This Page