Striped (RAID 0) SSDs using 2x Intel X-25M Gen2 160GB (SSDSA2MH160G2C1) in 17" uMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by walshlink, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. walshlink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #1
    I have installed 2x Intel X-25M Gen2 (SSDSA2MH160G2C1) 160GB SSDs in RAID 0 (striped) in my 17" uMBP. Second SSD was installed using a MCE Optibay in place of CD-ROM. I used the OSX Disk Utility to create the stripe partion with no problems. I currently have 10.5.8 loaded and will be loading 10.6.0 tonight and doing some simple GeekBench benchmarks.

    And yes...it is stupid fast...faster than the single Intel X-25M Gen 1 160GB SSD it replaced.

    Drooling may now commence...:D
     
  2. the Helix macrumors regular

    the Helix

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #3
    ...

    With the set up he has, he indeed has bragging rights!
     
  3. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
  4. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  5. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #6
    Post some damn bootup videos on youtube! Does it boot in less than 10 seconds then or what?
     
  6. Bubba Satori Suspended

    Bubba Satori

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    B'ham
  7. walshlink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #8
    Yes...my e-penis grew an inch so I wanted to share... :D

    Actually I wanted to do a stripe setup, but could not find anyone who had definitely shown it was possible (with details). So I spent a mint and tried it out... so...1/4 bragging, 3/4 showing a technical solution... hope someone finds it of value.
     
  8. walshlink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #9
    SLCs are in the mail... :)
     
  9. adamk77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #10
    I think it's more like 1/1 or 4/4 bragging, because that information is all over the place. MacRumors is literally paved with it.

    But I'm glad you like it.
     
  10. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #11
    Post some benchmarks and telll us how long it takes from start to boot.
     
  11. playalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #12
    Awesome, this is exactly the setup I'm going for. I have one already installed just waiting on the optibay and the 2nd drive to be delivered.

    Can you post some benches, and if possible a video of the startup time to usable desktop!?
     
  12. sascha h-k macrumors 6502

    sascha h-k

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Location:
    vienna / austria
    #13
    and as a cd/dvd drive use the macbook air superdrive, hacked .. :D

    (i have done it, works 100% and takes about 30min to do)
     
  13. walshlink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    #14
    10.6 took 18 minutes to install from Firewire 800 DVD-ROM...

    10.6 takes 38 seconds to boot from power button to desktop...
     
  14. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #15
    How come it boots so slow? That isn't normal. One of these puppies boot my MBP 13" in 15 seconds. I'd expect having them in RAID 0 you'd boot in about 10 seconds perhaps or maybe even less. I guess something's wrong with your setup...
     
  15. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #16
    mmm i think it's either bottle necked by the chipset. Those drives need a RAID card...

    or, the raid needs to initialise hence the delay...
     
  16. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Your boot time = epic fail.

    My 2.33 MBP boots in 40 seconds with 10.6.
     
  17. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #18
    Yeah, guess he lost his bragging rights ;).
     
  18. ajsimeon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #19
    yeah something is wrong with that....i have 80 gig intel g2 with 10.6 installed. Power button to usable desktop is 17 seconds and restart with no applications open from desktop to usable desktop is 18-19 seconds. I love my ssd. i'll eventually get another and put it in my superdrive.
     
  19. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #20
    Yeah, I guess I'm doing the same next year when they dropped in price, then I'm ordering a second one aswell and throw out the superdrive.
     
  20. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #21
    rather you get a 1 tb drive or something if it comes out.
    after all you just need a SSD for booting up and speeding up the application launch.
     
  21. phixiuz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    #22
    Well yeah, or that, depending on the price of the SSD still being quite expensive or not :).
     
  22. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #23
    Did you start the disk utility from CD and created a RAID 0 then install the OS? :eek:

    I never done it before on a MAC but can you even create a RAID 0 from the OS?
     
  23. p3ncil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #24
    yes you can.
     
  24. msh1978 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #25
    Do you try to install bootcamp?Is there problem to install bootcamp with Raid 0?
     

Share This Page