Successful Hackintosh Dual 6-Core X5680 (Geekbench Scores to Prove it!)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by WardC, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #1
    Yes, I just found this on the Geekbench 2.0 Results page. I checked the motherboard stats and they are the same as the 2009 model Mac Pro. This is a Hackintosh (somebody has dropped two 6-core X5680 chips in a 2009 model Mac Pro) and it worked!!! Geekbench 2 Scored a whopping 28239!! Holy *****! This is amazing!! The second fastest machine on Geekbench next to a 64-core server. In comparison, a 2.92GHz 8-core Mac Pro scores about 18000. This is a HUGE speed improvement. So, it can be done. The chips can be put in there, and the machine can be boosted to a dual 6-core. It works. Check this out::

    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/264312
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    It's not a 2009 Mac Pro. It's an EVGA SR 2 board.
     
  3. WardC thread starter macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    No it's not, look at the Motherboard ID for the Hackintosh and for the Mac Pro 4,1. They are the same. It's different for the EVGA SR 2, it will say so. The Hackintosh is really a 2009 Mac Pro with upgraded 6-core X5680 Xeon chips. Also, the BIOS for both machines is exactly the same. The Hackintosh BIOS says it is a Mac Pro 4,1. Look here:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    The give-aways for me were the X58 appended to the ID and the memory speed. If you look at his posts else it is clear it's a hackintosh of his SR-2 based system, I don't even think he got it running outside of a virtual machine.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    No sure if real. At first instance it looks real, but there so many things, like the EVGA mobo being 1333MHz while the "Hackintosh" is also 1333MHz speed being an Apple branded mobo. That is not possible just like that because Apple doesn't make 1333MHz compatible Mobos. Sure you can tweek it, but EFI is not that friendly. Another 2 give aways is the FSB (532MHz v 6.8GHz) and the X58 naming. The Hackintosh has it, the Mac Pro doesn't. You also have memory size differences (32GB v 12GB).

    I think that hakcintosh is a built hackintosh not a Mac Pro moded.
     
  6. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #6
    you can easily fake bios version and motherboard name on hackintosh
     
  7. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  8. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
  9. gaspra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #9
  10. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10


    I'm guessing you are new to hackintosh. Hackintoshers fake MacPro bios and model identifiers ALL THE TIME. That computer is NOT A REAL MAC PRO. Gulftown REQUIRES A BIOS UPDATE which YOU CAN NOT DO ON A MAC PRO.
     

Share This Page