Swapping Mac Pro Processor trays????

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rjheys, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. rjheys macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    Now that the new 2009 mac pro has the processors and ram on a completely removable tray would it be possible to just swap or upgrade the tray. Example, I have a 2009 2.66 Quad Mac Pro, could I just slide out my tray with the 2.66 Quad and slide in a different tray, like an 8 core one with the two 2.26 quads? I know you cant just buy the trays at the moment but in a few years could I maybe pick up a faster processor tray on ebay and put it in my machine? Does anybody know why this wouldn't work? (other hardware differences between the 4 and 8 core Mac Pros other than whats on the processor trays for example)
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    Another member posted awhile back (another thread), that the main logic board between the Quad and Octo are the same P/N's, so it should be technically possible. The SMB is different, but might be able to update it (firmware). The associated cost might not be wonderful though. ;) :p
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Even if possible it is probably unlikely it will make financial sense. I wouldn't count on it as a future upgrade strategy.
     
  4. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #4
    It'll be nice if someone would post an image of the processor try from a Quad and a Octo. I'm wondering to myself are there some components missing, or are they physically different. It's kinda hard to imagine them, as I don't own either of the new MP's.
     
  5. Boneoh macrumors 6502

    Boneoh

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #5
    They are physically different, check out the illustrations in this manual.

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Mac_Pro_Early2009_Memory_DIMM_DIY.pdf
     

Share This Page