Switching from Boot Camp to Parallels 4.0!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rjheys, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. rjheys macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    Hi, does anyone know, if I am running windows under Boot Camp can I transfer that system to a virtual one and run it in Parallels. i.e not have to install another copy of windows. I ask because I have lost my Windows disk so I wouldn't be able to install another copy, I would have to buy another disk. Can I transfer my existing version of windows to parallels?????
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Parallels will read your Boot Camp partition and run your Windows just fine

    Woof, Woof – Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for your help. I been looking at parallers for a while, it's time I order it I think! Yey
     
  4. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4


    Hello.
    Please let me understand well...

    Can I still use Boot Camp start menu if I don't want to run windows under MAC using Parallel?

    I'd like to use Windows naively using bootcamp
    Then I want also to boot in MAC and sometime use Parallel or VM ware to open some Win XP program when I need.

    Can I do that without losing BootCamp capabilities ?

    Thank You
     
  5. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #5
    if I understand you correctly, then yes. You can either boot Windows natively, use it, save files etc, then reboot into OS X and mount your boot camp partition virtually with Parallels and see all the files you just saved. I used to do this with parallels, bootcamp and Tiger. :)
     
  6. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #6

    Fantastic.
    Bootcamp for me offer more power when I need graphic power under windows.

    But I also need to run some prog that will not run under mac so I'm always stuck between MAC-only or WinXP-only.

    I'll try then and then buy it if does not mess up Win XP partition! :D

    Do you think is better Parallel or VM Ware?
    I think the Sun freeware Virtualization program can't use BootCamp Partition like you described for Parallel ins't it?
     
  7. marcdds macrumors newbie

    marcdds

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Traverse City
    #7
    I was told by Apple support that it is safer to run Windows under Boot Camp, and not use Parallels. The only thing is you have to wait a minute to reboot. Any comments?
     
  8. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #8
    I don't know about "safer," but it'll be faster for sure. I've used Parallels 3 for a long while on my MBP and it runs well enough... Well enough that I gave up on Boot Camp entirely. However, I only use it for a limited number of business apps that don't require much oomph.

    If I were playing games I would suspect that Boot Camp is going to be superior to Parallels. However I've heard that Parallels 4 offers a significant speed bump when compared to 3.

    My feeling is there is no real "safety" issue. It's all about speed (Boot Camp) versus convenience (Parallels).
     
  9. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #9
    Unless you have a Windows-version that uses a corporate key, you will have to re-activate Windows after each switch from Parallels to BootCamp or back.

    Other than that, VMWare Fusion 2 is the better choice in my experience when you want to use Vista and other operating systems. It's got better support and more professional tools. It also has an import utility to transfer a bootcamp partition into a disk image.

    Please note that when you copy the boot camp partition into a disk image, you -will- need a second Windows license if you are planning to use both Boot Camp AND the virtual disk.

    As long as you only use the boot camp partition for both Parallels/VMWare and native use, one Windows license is fine (that's why they introduced that feature in the first place).
     
  10. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #10

    Please let me understand better:

    My situation:

    1 MacBook Pro
    1 Partition Leopard
    1 Partition Win XP

    I only have bootcamp
    -------------

    Now If I go to install this Parallel 4.0 and tell Parallel to point to existing Boot Camp partition I have to re activate windows using the licence key and calling the Windows Activation services??

    And This everytime I swap between one Parallel Session and a BootCamp one?
     
  11. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #11
    ^ No for XP. Vista, ugh. For those of you that lost their discs, download a program that reads your serial number. copy it down and call MS. For a small fee, they should send you another disc. Or you could torrent an ISO of Windows, since you have a legit serial.
     
  12. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #12

    Ok.
    I'm not sure about your reply.
    Can you please be detailed?

    My question is:

    Once installed Parallel 4.0 in Leopard, with XP in the Boot Camp Partition, do I have to Re-Activate XP??

    Thank You
     
  13. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #13
    No. It is a touch and go thing if you need to reactivate in a Virutal Machine. I didn't have to reactivate when I booted into Parallels. But if oyu need to, just activate and then you'll be able to switch back and forth without reactiving every single time.

    No. Once oyu activate, its done. You can switch back and forth without any problems.

    Both XP and Vista are the same on activation. If activated once, on both sides, it'll remain activated. Plus, even talking about downloading windows on a torrent is a forum violation.

    You shouldn't, but if it does ask, activate it.
     
  14. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #14

    I have only a limited number of activations.
    I don't know if this is a standar procedure for every state in the world.


    But I already used two of the tree I have!
    If I use parallel I can't swap HD unless I buy a new licence!!
    That's why!
    So I'll think about it.
    Thank You anyway.
     
  15. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #15
    I did tested Parallels 4.0 and it screwed up all my Windows Bootcamp partition.
    Luckily I had previosly backed up all the Bootcamp Partition with WinClone.

    I waited more then 40 minutes to get windows start and then later as soon as I entered the password the HD was running fast and never stopped!
    I can't think it is normal wait more then 1 hour to get windows operative.
    I delete the partition completely and I rebuilt the Bootcamp partition
     
  16. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #16
    This is NOT true-I have a retail box version of XP (non-corporate) which started at service pack 1-I have since slipstreamed SP-2 and later SP-3.

    I use both Bootcamp and Parallels v. 3.0 and I only had to reactivate windows ONCE-when I installed Parallels. From that point on, Windows has never asked me for activation.
     
  17. Nordichund macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #17
    If you need to reactivate Windows in Parallels then all you have to do is call up Microsoft and explain why to reactivate if you have an OEM or one time only activation code. Not a problem.

    I'm not sure about Parallels 4. I have tried to install it twice now on my new MBP. The first time it ruined XP on Bootcamp and I had to uninstall everything. The second time I was just unable to work out quite what I was supposed to do. I know it is supposed to be easy right? The worst thing is that stupid demo video they have which doesn't explain much, but just tries to sell you it, after you have already bought it. Very annoying. In the end I downgraded to Parallels 3. I'm very happy with Parallels 3, I also use it on my other Mac. I'm certainly never installing version 4 again. Not on my own anyway.
     
  18. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #18
    You actually don't have to explain to anyone-the number that Windows gives you for re-activation is a computerized system. The computer makes you "swear" that you are only using XP on a single computer at a time (which I am-I traded in my old WinClone for a Mac Mini) and then it gives you an activation code. I think it asks twice and that is it. In theory, there are no other checks, so I suppose you could lie about the whole thing :)
     

Share This Page