switching your 10.5.0 DVD to 10.5.8 dvd?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hugodrax, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #1
    Is there a way to create a slipstream version of the leopard dvd since I have a ATI4870 in my mac pro I would like to generate from my original DVD a 10.5.8 bootable dvd.

    Is this possible? I heard I can turn in the 10.5.0 dvd and pay a media fee for a replacement 10.5.8 dvd.

    Is this true? How do you ask for this when you go to an apple store.
     
  2. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #2
    The latest DVD is 10.5.6, 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 have to come through updates.

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC094Z/A/Mac-OSX-Leopard?mco=NDcwMDM2NQ
     
  3. hugodrax thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #3
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    No
     
  5. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #5
    never heard of anyone slipstreaming mac os disks. Is there any particular reason you need this? You could just put the 10.5.8 combo update on a separate disk and run it after installing os x (thats what I do when I need to update a fresh machine anyway)
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    If one really needs it, I think there are some unofficial techniques that were developed recently by the OSx86 types...

    http://www.mlvision.com.au/mediawiki/index.php/Slipstream_OSX

    I have never tried this, FWIW....

    Also I thought that Leopard Server was supposed to add a feature sort of like slipstreaming? Whatever came of that? EDIT: Yeah, I think it has system imaging tools too, which are similar but not the same thing, obviously....
     
  7. hugodrax thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #7
    I have a ATI 4870 card in my mac pro. Which is not supported in 10.5.0

    So what happens if I boot 10.5.0 in a mac pro with a 4870?
     
  8. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I have a similar problem (PowerMac G5, updated graphics card). 10.5(.1 I think is the original release) boots to the point of giving somewhat readable 640x480 screen. I have a DVD-R of 10.5.8/latest combo update around just for this purpose. The preferred solution is to have a bootable clone of the system partition on an external drive.

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=8863281 has a similar question ... and no happier answer.
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    snow leopard is coming in about a month..you could just wait and drop $30 on that to solve your problem
     
  10. SomeSwede macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Land of ice and snow.
    #10
    I have seen some copies of 10.5.6 on various torrent sites. Since you already own a legal copy of Leopard i suggest you download a newer copy with a clean conscience.
     
  11. hugodrax thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #11
    The software on the machine is not qualified to run on 10.6.x
     
  12. DAMNiatx macrumors 6502a

    DAMNiatx

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #12
    what software is it ?
     
  13. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #13
    Make that a week if rumors are true.
     
  14. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #14
    IANAL, and I appreciate the common sense perspective, but that would not get you off the hook if a copyright holder took issue with it in the USA. The problem is that by default, a torrent involves uploading as you download. That isn't allowed.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Sweet Jesus, I'd rather just use imaging instead of that. You don't even need OS X Server unless you want to do NetInstall.
     
  16. kryptonianjorel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #16
    True, but you can't be responsible for other people's actions. Where it's really fuzzy is the fast that you bought a "license" to OSX. So one could download it 100 times and it wouldn't matter as long as they followed the license restrictions that they agreed to when buying the license.

    Well, I'm sure Apple's lawyers may not see it that way...but that sure as hell would be my defense! :)
     

Share This Page