T-Mobile LTE coming on in Minneapolis!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BruiserB, May 17, 2013.

  1. BruiserB macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    Had my first LTE connections here today. Seems spotty but have connected in several areas this afternoon.

    I don't actually seem to have data connectivity though....I sometimes got the "Could not activate cellular network" message even though I had full bars and the LTE symbol. Tried turning airplane mode on/off and even tried to reboot. Hoping its just part of the startup process and not a phone problem. Just turned off LTE in settings for now. Hoping things are fixed over the weekend.

    Anyone else in Minneapolis experiencing this? Any other markets just coming online?
     
  2. BruiserB thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #2
    Actually got it to work a bit ago.....looked like T-mo completely shut down and came back up about 30 minutes ago. I had no signal for about 5 minutes but then once it came up I had LTE connectivity. Got 9Mbps on first speed test and 16 on second. Was getting 4-7 on "4G" before.
     
  3. ipaclansite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    #3
    Tmonews seems to be receiving reports of LTE coming up in several places, such as Minneapolis, NYC and Detroit. Its rather exciting, and I hope it'll be significantly more robust compared to their refarmed 4g.
     
  4. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    I had LTE signal in Northeast Minneapolis but no Internet connection when attempting to try a speedtest or use chrome
     
  5. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #5
    I had it briefly around midtown in NYC subway station.
     
  6. shanmugam macrumors 68020

    shanmugam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Blazer town!
    #6
    t-mobile still long way to go... LTE and coverage.

    and hopefully they will get some of the lower frequency band 600/700/850Mhz

    in terms of data network/coverage they are still well behind Verizon, ATT

    and sprint (in terms of coverage we know sprint 3G plain sucks)

    in Portland, OR I think we do not have DC-HSDPA.
     
  7. BruiserB thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #7
    Is anyone having any luck consistently using LTE in Minneapolis yet? I got it to work for a while on the second day it showed up, but since then I have been getting LTE signal, but no network connection. Just the "could not activate cellular network" error message. I have turned LTE off waiting for it to start working, but it's been a couple of weeks now so it seems strange to me that they have the signal on but still no connectivity. Starting to wonder if there's a problem with my phone??
     
  8. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #8
    I work in Bloomington and have gotten it pretty consistantly since it first appeared. I get it in the Eagan/Apple Valley/ Burnsville areas too! Haven't had any issues with it either.

    Are you using a T-Mobile iPhone or an unlocked device?
     
  9. BruiserB thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #9
    I have a locked T-Mobile iPhone....hoping to get it unlocked soon after 60 days of service.
     
  10. BruiserB thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #10
    I seem to have it working now....

    I had changed my apn settings to epc.tmobile.com for the cellular data section and had fast.t-mobile.com for the LTE setup only. I had seen this recommended as supposedly T-mobile throttles the HSPA+ speeds with the fast apn.

    This had been working fine and I had already had this setting when LTE first came on and I did get connectivity initially. So I don't know if this was directly responsible for my problems....but I did hit "Reset Settings" at the bottom of the Cellular Data settings screen, rebooted my phone, and now I can actually connect to LTE. By resetting it went back to the default of fast.t-mobile.com for all of the APN settings.

    I may end up trying to change the settings again in the future, but I'll leave it this way for now.

    Thanks for letting me know that it was probably my phone and not the network. I had been patiently waiting, but was getting impatient! :)
     
  11. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #11
    T-Mobile doesn't throttle their speeds if you are on their unlimited data plans. Are you on a 500 MB or 2 GB data plan? These are the only plans they get throttled.
     
  12. BruiserB thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #12
    I'm on the $30 prepaid 5GB 100minute plan. Throttle was probably the wrong word, but supposedly they are slowing the speed of HSPA+ connections when connecting with the fast.t-mobile.com APN vs the epc one. Not slowing to 2G speeds, just not letting the HSPA+ go to its upper limit. I don't remember where I saw the exact documentation of this, but I'll look around and post the link if I find it.

    Since I'll now have LTE available almost everywhere, it's a moot point anyway if the 4G is slowed slightly.
     

Share This Page